Stazon Studio Glaze review

12 Jan
Guest Blog Post by Design Team Member Terri Ayers
Comments in italics by Deb

I think this is the first time I’ve received my surprise pack of goodies from Blue Twig Studio that I didn’t add more colors to the collection! It is very hard to resist the temptation of adding more! Review items this week were: Stazon Studio Glaze in Blue Hawaii and Cactus Green, Stazon Cloudy Sky solvent ink pad, and an Artist’s Cellar stencil. (all the Stazon products come in a variety of colors and you know we have a gazillion different stencils to use)

 

IMG_2996

The Stazon Studio Glaze is a thick glossy paint in a narrow-tipped tube that is created primarily to work on non-porous surfaces such as glass, ceramic, resin or metal but it also works on porous paper and modeling paste. There are techniques to use a layer of gold on glass and then apply color for a tumbled glass effect and also of using the black color as an outline and filling in with color similar to stained glass. I just focused on the colors I had on hand. I first used them on a ceramic tile applying with a brush. I also colored some glass beads. I used the glazes on a glass container painting stripes on another project. I did two layers of this and it was still fairly transparent. I alternated application methods using a brush and a blending sponge. I experimented with the glaze on various surfaces: paper, plastic buttons, glass beads, a ceramic bisque turtle and Tim Holtz resin roses. I used the glaze on a mixed media art piece by applying the glaze to modeling paste birds, this really made the birds pop as they had a glossier look than the acrylic paint. I also applied little dots all over the piece with a toothpick. I finished the art canvas with a few dabs of the Stazon ink over the stencil. The gray color is perfect for shading and adding a subtle hint of distress.

IMG_2992 IMG_2991 IMG_2990
IMG_2994

More about the studio glaze… The paint is in a squeeze bottle and comes out easily to cover in paint stroke movements. It can be applied this way somewhat thickly and dries very glossy. It is not self-leveling and sometimes can come out of the tube in a quick blob! I preferred squeezing a small amount out onto my craft mat and applying with a brush (good to know). I found the best surfaces to reflect the vibrant colors of the glazes was either the white tile, the non-porous surface pieces or the modeling paste. It wipes up with water or a baby wipe as you work, but when it dries, it is permanent. Working on the ceramic tile, it was similar to working with alcohol inks, but it dries permanent with out needing a sealant, if you apply straight from the tube onto paper, it will also provide a nice effect.

These products would make a great addition to your art stash. I would like to add a white and black glaze to my collection. Hope you are able to try these out and have fun with these products.

~Terri

Thanks Terri for another great review and samples. I enjoy seeing how the different products can be used. It makes it easier to decide if I would like the product or not for myself.

Products can be purchased at Blue Twig Studio.

Note that Terri is teaching a monthly mixed media technique class at Blue Twig Studio on the 1st Wed of the month. This is a great way to try out new products and techniques while creating something fun! The birds shown above are a sneak peak of a bit of the canvas she is doing in Feb. You can register at the shop or by visiting this link

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

 

3 Responses to “Stazon Studio Glaze review”

  1. Lynnita January 12, 2016 at 11:48 pm #

    This product looks awesome! Thanks for sharing how it worked on so many different surfaces. How many colors do they come in?

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 14, 2016 at 4:36 pm #

      I think there is 12 or 13 colors, a couple of them are metallic.

      Like

  2. claywithme March 26, 2016 at 3:06 pm #

    Reblogged this on claywithmestudio.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
