Final days of the 365 day challenge

31 Dec

Well I have reached the final weeks of the year. I have managed to create a postcard every single day this year. There were a few days that the postcard example was quite minimal and not really very good. There were days when I went to bed and realized I hadn’t done my postcard so had to get up and scrounge in the studio for something I could use. There were days when I used the postcard for another challenge as well. Sometimes I really didn’t like what I did, but I shared it anyway because it was about the process not the product.

But I am happy to say that I did finish the year!  Did you complete your own 365 days of art challenge?

I hope you enjoy the final days of my challenge. Apparently this was a month of shiny stuff. Lots of photo paper, yupo paper, glitter and sparkly stuff – which doesn’t really photograph very well.

 

I have enjoyed doing the 365 days of art challenge the last couple of years. I have managed to do ‘something’ every single day for my challenges. I have learned that it is important to do something creative or artistic or playful every day – it really does feed the soul. I have learned that just finding a small amount of time every day is possible – so I wonder what else is possible?

However, I am not going to do this challenge again. Or at least not every single day. While I am happy to have done what I did do, it isn’t really serving me any more. The little bits of fun I have every day is fun – but it isn’t really making art. I really want to be able to make more art in the upcoming year. And to do that, I have to devote more time and attention to actually making art, not just filling the time with something playful.

What does that look like? Do I commit to making art every day? Every week? Every month? I’m not sure I can control it that much. Or I’m not sure I want to control it. I’d love to have it be more fluid, more natural, more exploration and experimentation and just following my heart. This is part of my word of the year too. Devoting more time to making art is a part of it.

Did you get a postcard from me this year? I did send out a few random postcards over the year. I know my intention was to send out LOTS of them, but I didn’t really do that. If you want one of my postcards, I am happy to send you one. Just send an email to dlprewitt@hotmail.com  with the subject line POSTCARDS, and give me your full mailing address and I will send you one.  Or you can leave your info here if you want. 🙂

#bts365days

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

4 Responses to “Final days of the 365 day challenge”

  1. Jerry December 31, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

    I notice the work you put in and am proud of you- You try everyday to be creative-which most people don’t do. I hope other people know how hard you work and love your work.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 31, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

      Aw thanks Jer! I didn’t know you paid attention to my blog. 🙂

      Like

  2. wradamsfineart January 18, 2016 at 9:00 pm #

    I have been thinking of taking up that challenge, myself. I do art most days, anyway. It’s those dang days when I come home from work exhausted that will be tough. I found your comment about keeping things fluid very insightful. Maybe I don’t need this kind of challenge. Maybe I need to just keep on keeping on. I enjoy your blog very much.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 28, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

      I did enjoy doing the challenge for the past couple years, but just wanted to go a different direction this year. Perhaps I’ll do it again in the future. It does require a big commitment, however there aren’t any ‘challenge police’ out there to bother you if you miss a day now and then. 🙂

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
