Why I chose ME for my word of the year

29 Dec

Every year I choose my word of the year. Or I should say it chooses me. It is usually quite clear by the middle of December what my word for the New Year will be. It helps focus me and guide me and inspire me over the course of the year.

 

Happy-New-Year-2016-Text-png-Free-Download3

 

 

This year I had a bit more trouble deciding what my word would be. I had a great list full of words – each of which would be a good choice for me. But for some reason I couldn’t really narrow it down. There just wasn’t one word which said ‘pick me pick me’ (ha ha – my word is me).

When I decided to choose the word ME, it was because I noticed that a lot of the words on my list were really personally motivated words. Words like: healthy, mindfulness, gratitude, create, art, abundance, self-care, balance, home, grow. These are words for ME! So it made perfect sense to just choose the word ME, so that I could encompass all of these other words as well.  So this year I am setting aside the time for ME!

Is choosing ME being selfish? Maybe….but I think the word selfish gets a bad rep most of the time. It is OK to take care of yourself. It is OK to be happy. It is OK to do things you love. It is OK to be the best you there is.

 

inspirational-quotes-6

 

 

So the New Year will bring me the opportunity to focus on me. On what serves me, what feeds me, what helps me, what motivates me, what inspires me, what makes me happy, what helps me grow.  Following Your Bliss seems like such an overused phrase – but I think it applies here.

 

f98_follow_your_bliss_%28quote%29__97981.1307486708.1280.1280

 

What word have you chosen? Please share.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

 

6 Responses to “Why I chose ME for my word of the year”

  1. QuinnCreativeq December 29, 2015 at 2:13 pm #

    There is nothing selfish about self-care. It’ makes you able to share yourself with others. Taking care of yourself is an excellent choice. I’m choosing “open” to remind myself to be open to new opportunities, new ideas, and new ways to make things happen.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 29, 2015 at 2:42 pm #

      Open is a good word – lots of ways to interpret it and use it.

      Like

  2. kristin December 30, 2015 at 5:22 am #

    great word Deb! i am still narrowing mine too. 🙂

    Like

  3. Peggy December 31, 2015 at 10:15 am #

    Gratitude

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Final days of the 365 day challenge | Blue Twig Studio - December 31, 2015

    […] more natural, more exploration and experimentation and just following my heart. This is part of my word of the year too. Devoting more time to making art is a part of […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
