My Word of the Year 2016

20 Dec

I don’t do New Year Resolutions anymore. Instead I choose a Word of the Year. The Word finds itself into all aspects of my life – sometimes in ways that are unexpected. I’ve been doing it for quite a few years now and can say that it has been quite rewarding to do.  Usually I have clearly decided my Word of the Year by this time. But this year I haven’t really been able to zero in on my word quite so easily.

I’ve been searching and paying attention to words, but nothing has been super obvious to me. I’m not sure why I make it so difficult to choose my Word of the Year? Do you have the same problem?

 

So I am just picking a word. One of the words off my list. And that is going to be it. I know I can change it later if I want to.

me

My word for 2016 is ME.  I want to spend more time working on ME. From exercising more, to eating better, to making more art, to getting more sleep, to doing more of the things that I love to do. We often put ourselves near the bottom of the list – everyone else comes first. But you really can’t be there for others if you are not taking care of yourself first (there is a reason the flight attendant tells you to put your oxygen mask on before helping others).

 

So now I have made my decision. Have you made yours? Please share below and let’s see if we can support each other during the upcoming year.

 

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue  Twig Studio

5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

7 Responses to “My Word of the Year 2016”

  1. Ann Grasso December 20, 2015 at 4:23 pm #

    Yes, I have chosen my word for 2016. I agree with you that FOCUS on a word or making goals helps alert our attention toward the selections. My word is “collaboration.”

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 20, 2015 at 4:33 pm #

      Collaboration is a great word. I wish you a great collaborative year. 🙂

      Like

  2. pat Mathes, CZT December 20, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

    My word is Continue. I will continue to learn, continue to explore, continue to grow, continue to create.

    Like

  3. Kelly S January 3, 2016 at 12:32 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE your WOTY! It’s one I have never given thought to as I chose one, but it’s a great reflection for the year ahead. Fabulous post – thank you for sharing 🙂

    I’ve chosen Adventure – and adventuring out into blog land and leaving a trail of positivity!
    http://sandcastlestamper.blogspot.com/2016/01/one-word-2016.html

    Like

  4. find here February 16, 2016 at 2:20 am #

    Heart touching

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
