Tim Holtz holiday goodies

8 Nov

Guest Blog Post by Design Team Member Terri Ayers

Comments in italics by Deb

What a treat to get some Tim Holtz holiday goodies (everybody seems to like the Tim Holtz holiday items as they have come into the shop and are already mostly all gone!)  to experiment with for the first month of being on the design team.  I spent quite a few days trying to decide what to do with the holiday Yuletide embellishments.  I received Alpha Parts  – Frozen, a Christmas stencil (one can never have too many stencils), Festive Ephemera , and boxwood twine.  An idea to make a burlap tree and decorate it with the supplied items came to mind.  I did follow through with that idea, and we will be offering a class Dec 4 for that (see link at end of post).  I will definitely be making some Christmas cards, but for fun I thought I would try a tag.  Tags are a great way to try out a new technique and the tag can be placed in an envelope and used as a card, added to a package as lovely gift tag, placed in a holiday centerpiece or floral arrangement or many other creative uses.

 

I will give my personal thoughts on the various items I received.  I loved the stencil – I know I can use it for many other occasions in addition to Christmas.  Distress sprays, inks and paints, modeling/texture paste, acrylic paints, Gelatos and various other media can be used with the stencils to impart their image onto paper, fabric, burlap, canvas, glass, wood and many other surfaces.  The Boxwood Twine is flexible and can be used to decorate a card, make a wreath or decorate a small tree.  I really liked it and could also use this for other holidays.  The  Ephemera pack contained many vintage images on cardstock.  These are so much fun!  They can be layered into collages, used in cards and scrapbooks and many other applications.

GetAttachment

Lastly, the Alpha Parts clear embellishments were in my stash of goodies.  They are a hard clear plastic and can be colored with alcohol inks or markers or covered with glue and glitter (the photo shows where Terri had started inking it).  The Frozen set is comprised of snowflakes and icicles.  Personally, I did not find these to be my favorite.  They were a little difficult to cut out and they are only lightly adhesive-backed. (good information to know)

 

 

 

Here is how I made this sample holiday tag.  I used the Tim Holtz distress paints in rusty hinge, antiqued bronze, and wild honey.  I applied the paints with their dauber directly onto a tag in random spots and rubbed in with my fingers.

GetAttachment (4)

Initially I used distress ink to stencil in Peace and Joy.  I later went over the words with Versamark stamping the pad directly onto the stencil and used gold embossing powder. I was much happier with the gold!

GetAttachment (5)

I made a wreath with the twine and later found some red berries to wrap into it.

GetAttachment (6)

I selected a few pieces of Ephemera and secured them to the tag with matte medium.  I stamped sheet music onto the top with Archival Ink and then tied the wreath onto the tag with some gold ribbon.  I added a few other embellishments and a couple of metal brads. I outlined around the Ephemera with a black Faber Castell Pitt pen to give a little depth to the overall look and then finished the edges of the tag with a little sponging of Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

20151106_152847 (2)

 

 

Thank you deb and Blue Twig Studio for all of the supplies used in this tag. (you can find these products and more at Blue Twig Studio)

~Terri

Thanks Terri for a fabulous review of products. And the tag is really cute. I hardly ever make tags myself, but have seen so many created that are absolutely beautiful. You are right, they are a great way to experiment and play with products and techniques before moving on to your final project.

You can register for the Rustic Chic Tree class by clicking this link.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio

5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

4 Responses to “Tim Holtz holiday goodies”

  1. Pat Mathes November 8, 2015 at 9:07 pm #

    Awesome!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. claywithme March 26, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

    Reblogged this on claywithmestudio.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tim Holtz holiday goodies | claywithmestudio - March 26, 2016

    […] Source: Tim Holtz holiday goodies […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
