Gelatos Tutorial

23 Oct

Guest Blog Post from Design Team Member Pat Mathes

Comments in italics by Deb

 

I am so excited to be a part of the Design Team at Blue Twig Studio.  That means I get to play with “STUFF”.

1

 

My first bag of goodies had a set of gelatos (Manhattan set) – Gold Champagne, Silver Ice, Iced Rose, Metallic Icing, a dot dauber and stippler brush.  My only experience before this with gelatos (we have lots of gelatos available in many colors at Blue Twig Studio – Deb) was to use them on stencils with a stencil brush.    So I had to do some research, and some playing and experimenting.

 

One of the other items in the bag was an Artist Pad.   This is a pad perfect for Artist Soft Pastels and Oil Pastels.  The awesome thing about this pad is that there is a sheet of tissue separating the pages so the pastels don’t smear.  It is a nice weight of paper.  I decided to try it using gelatos with a stencil brush.  It performed well – no buckling, even with the baby wipes – and kept its stability.

 

2

 

I also used this Artist Pad with pastel pencils on a different piece and it is a great paper!  I am able to keep the drawing in the pad until I am ready for it and it won’t smear.

 

Back to the gelatos.  There are numerous ways you can use gelatos – (1) directly on paper with stencils, (2) a reverse stencil where you put the gelato on the paper and use a baby wipe with the stencil to remove the gelato (the bottom left one above), (3) smear some on your craft mat, and using a water brush, mix it to add as paint [you can also water it down to a consistency to put in a mini mister and use as a spray], (4) put it directly on paper or fabric or canvas, and blend either with water or baby wipes, (5) do a smear of gelatos and blend along the top of a journal page, mist it and let it drip down the page creating a great background for a journal page.  These are just a few – it is really a versatile tool.

 

The first thing I did was blend the gold, silver and rose on a piece of watercolor paper.  I then used the poinsettia stencil and did a reverse stencil , removing the gelato with a baby wipe, and then painted with a red gelato (#3 above)  to give some color back to the poinsettias.  Nice overall effect.  The second sheet was basically blending the rose, silver and gold gelatos on black artgain paper, and doing a total reverse stencil.  Made a beautiful background piece. (I like the black paper)

3

 

I decided to do a mixed media Christmas canvas with the items given.  Besides the gelatos, I had a length of green cord, a package of Tim Holtz wreath adornments, and a poinsettia stencil.  So I got out a canvas – 6” square and 1 ½” deep.  I started with the gold, silver and rose gelatos and blended across the canvas.  I spritzed with water and used a glove to finger blend.  (I don’t usually like using daubers, I would rather use my fingers. I have more control and I can give it some dimension).

 

Then I did a reverse stencil, using a baby wipe to remove the gelato along the left side.  I then used a red to add some color back in, but not much.  So I had my background set.  I then decided  to make two poinsettias out of scrapbook Christmas paper.  I don’t use a die cutter, so found a picture of the die set to make the poinsettias and made a medium and small poinsettia – 4 layers of petals.  I trimmed with gold metallic gelly roll. When I placed it on the canvas – it needed something, so I had some red feathers and made a background embellishment with them, and then attached the poinsettias using a brad which I dipped in pink glitter.  I drilled a hole through the canvas to put the brad through so they didn’t need glued and could have a bit of mobility and looseness.  I printed a Happy Holiday greeting on tissue paper, and  used matte medium to place on the canvas.  I then highlighted the lettering with a red metallic ink pen.   I ran a walnut distress ink pad around the edge of the collaged piece to give it some character.  Once it dried, I used the Metallic Icing gelato and rubbed it over the collage, blending it with a spritz of water.

 

 

I took one of the Tim Holtz wreaths and colored it using green and red alcohol inks to give it some character.  I attached the green cord, tied on the wreath and added some small silver jingle bells for more “bling”.

Here is the finished piece.  As you can see in the second picture, I also did the same technique on the sides as I did on the front of the panel.

~Pat

Thanks for a great tutorial Pat. It is fun to see how other people use the same products. I love how you added some feathers to the flowers.

Most of these products are available at Blue Twig Studio. ~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio

5039 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
