my tug of war

17 Aug

I’ve been feeling this tug of war going on with myself for awhile now. On the one hand I love art and creativity and playing in my studio and making stuff. I like being alone and experimenting.  Makes me happy and keeps me calm. On the other hand I love my shop and working at the store and being a business owner. I love meeting new people and hearing about the creative journeys they have been on. I love helping those people new to art to find their place in the creative world.

 

tug-of-war-hi

 

I am constantly having this discussion with myself about the two sides. Which side is my true passion? Which side is more important? Which side should I be devoting my time and resources towards? Where does my real strength lie?

It is a constant debate and I finally decided that I don’t really have to choose. I can embrace both sides of who I am. I can make art and I can be a successful business owner and that is OK! Of course, I may need to be reminded of this on occasion, as I’m sure this will be an ongoing debate.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, Co 80918

719-266-1866

 

6 Responses to “my tug of war”

  1. CharkatTangles August 17, 2015 at 6:14 pm #

    I’m going through the same thing right now. Trying to get the shop off the ground has cut into my art time, but I think I am starting to see a new balance emerge.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt August 17, 2015 at 6:47 pm #

      That’s good. I know it is an ongoing struggle for lots of artists trying to run businesses too. My balance ebbs and flows.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Deborah Pace August 17, 2015 at 6:22 pm #

    Deb–I’m so glad you decided to do both. I was thinking about what you said and thought to myself, “would you be just as passionate about art if you did not have the shop?” Seeing all the creativity that comes through your doors, which for me would be so inspiring and keep me going. I think you are absolutely right! You do not have to choose. I’m glad to see you are doing both 😉

    Like

  3. QuinnCreative August 18, 2015 at 2:16 pm #

    Personally, I’m glad you do both. Having an artist as a store owner is such a big help in asking questions and getting excellent answers. As an artist, you also know what to keep in stock, and which artists to invite to teach. It’s a great combination.

    As an artist who also is a corporate trainer, I know the urge to choose. But there is also much joy in doing more than one thing. You find more balance, I think.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
