Coloring is Not just for Kids

8 Jul

Coloring is a fun and relaxing activity. When we are kids, we love to color. As we get older, we start thinking that coloring is only for kids. That is SO WRONG! Coloring books are amazing! Lots of fun pictures already drawn for you and all you have to do is play with the colors.

P1040570

Of course, I have always thought coloring was fun and important to our general well-being. But apparently lots of adults have never even considered the idea that they could color just like the kids do! But I’m here to tell you that you can enjoy coloring too.

P1040574

There are lots of wonderful coloring books for adults, which tend to be more detailed and intricate, but lots of kids coloring books are pretty good too!!!! There are so many different topics and themes that it is easy to find something for everyone.  This is one of my favorites.

P1040569

And these are some of my favorite tools to use. Of course, this isn’t all of them, but a good selection.

All kinds of markers to play with.

P1040561

Colored pencils are also fun to use. Like my favorite Inktense pencils.

P1040563

Or the Tombow Irotijen pencils.

P1040564

Or gel pens. So many colors and always fun to play with.

P1040566

My new favorite Derwent Graphix line markers.

P1040562

What do you like to use when coloring? Pens, pencils, markers, paint, or good old fashioned crayons?

There is a new trend that is all about adult coloring books. I can’t keep the books in the store – as soon as they come in, then they go out – which is awesome because that means people are starting to realize that coloring is for adults too!  So many options!

P1040559 P1040560

It is a great way to relieve stress and lessen anxiety. It helps you focus. You can play with all the colors and let your imagination run wild. You can try out new color combinations. You can get a little bit of art fun in even when your muse is on vacation. Plus it is just plain fun!!!!

I hope you join the coloring book fun!  You can find some coloring books and coloring tools on the website or in the shop. Stop by sometime and see what you can find!

P1040576

I’m thinking of hosting a coloring book party. What do you think? Does that sound like fun to you?

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio

5039 N Academy Blvd

Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

12 Responses to “Coloring is Not just for Kids”

  1. Pat Mathes Czt July 8, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

    Awesome idea. I love to color. I just bought Secret Garden and so far just looking at each page over and over. Coloring is so relaxing.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 9, 2015 at 7:11 pm #

      Secret Garden is a great book. And yes, coloring is relaxing. 🙂

      Like

  2. lynnk50 July 9, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

    Love coloring!! I just saw that Enchanted Forest coloring book and was thinking of ordering it! Glad to know you love it! I do find coloring so relaxing. Just makes any stress and tension melt away! Then I couldn’t believe some of artwork was chosen for NorthLight’s new Zen Doodle Coloring Book! So awesome!! I would like to try those new Derwent Graphik line painters. I didn’t see them on the website to order – will you be selling these?

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 9, 2015 at 7:12 pm #

      Yes, I have more coming in and will be selling them. Not sure when they will be here. Do you want me to let you know when I get them? I will have the Enchanted Forest coloring book too if you want me to put that aside for you too. 🙂

      Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 9, 2015 at 7:13 pm #

      And congrats on the Zen Doodle coloring book! Very cool!

      Like

  3. dianezaharis July 10, 2015 at 12:48 am #

    Deb I love colouring too, it’s such great meditation. I wish I had all the pretty pens you do to play with. I do love my inktense pencils though!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 10, 2015 at 7:34 am #

      It is meditative, isn’t it. I find that the pencils work best for all the little details though. Sometimes the pens or paint are just a little messy for the tiny areas. Of course, that doesn’t mean it isn’t still lots of fun anyway. 🙂

      Like

  4. Christie July 18, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    My mom mentioned seeing a story a
    on the news about coloring and was excited to give it a try. Unfortunately, she was turned off by how detailed the pictures were in the books we looked at. It was a bit intimidating for someone looking for something simple to try, not a new hobby that will require a lot of time and planning. Can you recommend a book that doesn’t have teeny tiny details but also isn’t filled with huge blank spaces? She doesn’t think she’s creative enough to draw free hand. Thanks.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 19, 2015 at 8:44 am #

      Yes a lot of the adult books are very detailed and the kids books are too basic. I’ll have to look at some of the books I have in the shop to see which ones are something in-between. Unfortunately when you order on-line you can’t always tell what you will get. You really need to look at them in person so you can scan through the pages. I’ll get back to you with some options.

      Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 19, 2015 at 12:40 pm #

      Here are a few options that I have in the shop that should work. Sealife Designs by creative haven; Hipster coloring book by Design Originals; Dapper Animals coloring book by Design Originals; Mind Healing Calming colours by Christina Rose.

      Like

  5. Caroline Barton July 22, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

    A coloring party sounds like fun. will stop in to see what’s new, especially The Enchanted Garden.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
