Book Club – Life is a Verb

4 Jun

This month (or I should say last month since I didn’t get this posted very quickly) we continued reading Life is a Verb by Patti Digh. We read chapters 4, 5, 6.

Creative is a Verb by Patti Digh

Creative is a Verb by Patti Digh

There were comments about the similarities and differences between this book and the Julia Cameron book The Artist Way (which we read for book club way back in the beginning). And even though the books are really quite different (in style, format, information) there is a common ground of finding yourself and learning to enjoy the here and now of life.

I particularly love Patti’s style and her stories. They are amusing and poignant and meaningful without being sappy or trite. And they are her stories – she isn’t making stuff up to get her point across – she is using her own life to illustrate her points. I appreciate that.

We discussed ideas about Art Retreats and Artist Colonies. Some of us have participated in art retreats and found them quite wonderful and enjoyable. It really is all about a shared experience and being with like-minded people. But the idea of an Artist Colony was quite intriguing and full of possibilities. We talked about how wonderful it would be to join an Artist Colony and spend 6mos or a year just being immersed in whatever art we were pursuing and how that might change us. It seemed scary to think about doing it, but I think we would all jump at the chance to do it if we could finagle it.

The exercises were not felt to be as compelling as Julia Cameron’s, with some people doing them and some people choosing not to do them. It was agreed that the Take 37 exercises were much more valuable but that you would have to choose one or two to do, because it would be too much to do them all at once. But we liked the idea of choosing one or two to focus on and see what results we got, and then perhaps choosing more at a later time.

Because we have several school teachers in our group, the discussion often turns to teaching people – the challenges, the joys, the environment, etc. Because we all pull information from a book that pertains to who we are and how we see the world. Isn’t that what makes a great book? Being able to find yourself in it?

What did you take from these chapters? Did you like them? Were there particular stories that touched you more than others? Did you do the exercises?

We will be reading and discussing Chpts  7, 8, 9 and 10 next month.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio

5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

2 Responses to “Book Club – Life is a Verb”

  1. lynnk50 June 26, 2015 at 11:32 pm #

    I only got through chapter 4 for May, as I misplaced the book. I left it at a doctor’s office! Oops! Got it back, though, this week! So can catch up now. I like the book – it’s amusing and focuses on living your life in a creative manner. It’s easy to get bogged down in the daily drudgeries of ekeing out a living. With only finishing one chapter, I was surprised at how many 10 min and 37 day exercises there were. Many of the 10min ones didn’t appeal to me and there’s just too many of the 37 day ones to be practical to complete in the allotted time to read the book.

    I agree with the thoughts you posted about Art Retreats and Art Colonies. I enjoy the retreats and find them inspiring and uplifting. An Art Colony is intriguing, but scary to think about. But yet, I think I would jump in with both feet and not look back if the opportunity arose.

    Since I was able to get the book back, I’ll see what I can read, as June is almost up already!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 27, 2015 at 7:26 am #

      I looked at the exercises as suggestions and ways to start thinking differently. The first time I read the book I did do most of the 10 minute ones, but this time through I didn’t. The 37 days exercises can’t really all be done at once, but we can pick and choose one or two to focus on and go on from there.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
