Yummy Balinese Silk Sari Ribbons

7 Mar
Guest blog post from Kristin Peterson
comments in italics from Deb
I come from a long line of sewers and love to sew on paper. I had recently gotten some Silk Sari ribbon from Blue Twig Studio to use on tags and work into other projects. The first bundles I had gotten were pretty much a solid color with some variations in the ribbons. I had gotten purple and green because of my color palette I normally paint in. I love the richness of each color and love using the ribbon with small baker’s twine or yarn when tying into my tags.
My last bundle of Silk Sari ribbon is like a variety pack; but, I am absolutely loving the colors in this bundle and Blue Twig Studio has quite a few Sari bundles to choose from. I was totally in love with the magenta and navy blue, with little hints of gold in this ribbon.  These bundles are the Balinese Batik Silk. Yummy. 
silk sari ribbon

silk sari ribbon

The ribbon was so colorful that I wanted to try to use it with my tags again. I normally would use the Sari ribbon at the top of the tag through the hole to tie onto your package or whatever you were using the tag for. However, with this bundle I found I want to show the ribbon off and not use it that way.
IMG_5712[1]
I looked for complimentary colors to the Sari ribbon to start with and worked from there….painting, collage, some stencils, and then some sewing for the ribbon.
IMG_5713[1]
I was tickled how these tags turned out and love the feel of the ribbon. It adds a textural element to my paper tags being sewn onto the front instead of as a tie.
BTS Sari Tags
Kristin
Thanks to Kristin for another way to use the Silk Sari ribbon. These are really cute tags. I love all the Silk Sari ribbon bundles and how each bundle is unique and different from every other bundle. 
~Deb
Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play
Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918
719-266-1866
2 Responses to “Yummy Balinese Silk Sari Ribbons”

  1. lynnk50 March 17, 2015 at 7:19 pm #

    The tags are beautiful!! I love Sari ribbons. They are so much fun and so pretty! I first used them in a silk fiber class I took from Noriko Endo (fiber artist from Japan) over a year ago. I didn’t realize you carried them! I’d never seen ones with prints – only solid colored Sari ribbons! Wow! I’ll need to order a package!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt March 17, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

      Yes the printed silk ribbons are called Balinese silk ribbons. They are really cool.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
