Multi-purpose cloth coasters

13 Feb
Guest post by Design Team member Deborah Pace
Comments in italics from Deb (Blue Twig Studio)
Deborah received some MPC this month to play with (as part of the Design Team). Let’s see what she created!
1. Supplies used:
Paint Brushes (various sizes)
Optional: Graphite paper, Permawriter, Sealant
DSC_0070
2.  I decided to use the Multi Purpose Cloth as a center setting with coasters.  Choose a pattern.  Either your own or from an image free design.  I chose a fish and seashells for my design.
DSC_0071 DSC_0073
3. Cut the cloth to fit your pattern.
DSC_0074
4. Transfer your design onto the Multi Purpose Cloth
DSC_0078
5. Paint your design.  I used acrylic and Lumiere paints. (Lumiere paints are yummy!)
DSC_0085
6. Optional:  Outline your design.  I used a Permawriter to outline my design. (these turned out really cute)
DSC_0088
Lastly, have fun with your project and enjoy!
Deborah
Thanks Deborah for another fun tutorial. I love the MPC as it is so durable, easy to paint or sew, and since it is non-woven you don’t have to hem it! Perfect for a project like this. 
~Deb
Blue Twig Studio
5039 N Academy Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
719-266-1866
3 Responses to “Multi-purpose cloth coasters”

  1. joyofartstudio February 13, 2015 at 9:06 am #

    great idea I may us this with my students thanks

    Like

  2. lynnk50 February 13, 2015 at 1:34 pm #

    Love what you’ve done with it! The paints look so vibrant! Do the paints soak through to the back? I’ve been wanting to try this MPC, too! Love that the edges don’t need to be finished! Can think of many things I’d like to make with it!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt February 19, 2015 at 2:53 pm #

      I haven’t noticed paint bleeding through to the back if I used standard acrylic paints. It is quite durable and easy to use. I’ve made tote bags and book covers and purses and bookmarks, etc. 🙂

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
