Using the Luminarte Silk Glazes

26 Jan
Guest post from Design Team member Joy Hellman
Comments in italics by Deb
As one of the design team members for Blue Twig Studio I received the Luminarte Silk Glazes to try out. Even before I opened the bottle I knew what I would use it for because I absolutely love working with glazes and Impressionist techniques. Because I am already familiar with glazes I knew that I would use them in the landscape painting that I had been working on,  finishing up with the reflection of the water. I have always admired Monet and his painting of Lily Ponds.

0c016701a3c749c8a8b9778accbe860e

Luminarte Silks Acrylic Glaze

What makes Silks so special? It’s the secret mix of mica and other proprietary mineral particles that refract light, like a crystal.
How do Silks work? Silks are easy to use paints that create a semi-gloss glaze – not too shiny, not too flat, but just right. Simply brush Silks onto your project, using a wide brush for broad strokes or a fine brush for details. Or use a brayer if you want even wider swaths of color. Allow Silks to dry between colors to keep the glaze layers distinct and create depth, or blend the colors while still wet if you prefer that effect.
What surfaces are suitable for Silks? It’s a long list. Silks are formulated for paper, wood, pre-washed fabrics, papier mache, acrylic and other plastics, canvas, gourds, silk and silk ribbon, terra cotta, paper-clay, air-dry clay, air-dry polymer, leather, faux leather, and more.

DSC06368 (2)

My Own Impressionist painting done in the style of an Impressionist  landscape with the Silk Glazes

thX8HFYXA9

Lilly Pond in Giverny where Monet Painted the reflection of Water

Recently Updated11

So I had a landscape composition that I used to create an Impressionist painting and it was my own interpretation.  I love Impressionism and I also found a new way to create the reflection of water much like Monet’s Lily Pond using Silk Glaze – which is wonderful because it is paint with the glaze already added which gives your surface a transparent effect and you can use it to create reflection in the water. I am also planning to experiment with the product when I start making my Angels and Heart Art next month and my spring earrings …..I have not tried the gold and it looks yummy can’t wait! There are so many ways to use this product!

dsc06368-21 dsc06368-2-002 dsc06368-2-001
This the glazed area of the pond that I created with the Silks. You can really see how wonderful they work to create reflection in the water..

Hope you explore the Silk Glazes and enjoy them as much as I did!
Joy
Thanks Joy for your post. I love using the Silk Glazes too. They are translucent and just a bit sparkly so they appeal to me. Deb
Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play
Blue Twig Studio
5039 N Academy Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
719-266-1866
 
5 Responses to “Using the Luminarte Silk Glazes”

  1. Kristin January 26, 2015 at 4:36 pm #

    Love the look of those- looks like fun!

    Like

  2. Kerry January 26, 2015 at 4:45 pm #

    Really like the way the work turned out. Looks like they would be fun to play with….

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 27, 2015 at 7:06 pm #

      Haven’t you used the silks before Kerry? They are really nice.

      Like

  3. lynnk50 February 12, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    I used the silks on an art quilt (see post at http://www.lynnitaknoch.blogspot.com/2014/11/week-46-of-365-days-of-art-challenge.html ). They are as easy to use on fabric as on paper! Love the way they look! Joy, your landscape is wonderful – love the reflection!

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
