We love sparkly stuff!

22 Jan

Guest post by Design Team member Kristin Peterson

Comments in italics from Deb

I have to be honest- when I opened and saw the fibers and film (Angelina fibers) I was not totally sure how to incorporate it into my work, but, it only took a single play with the fibers and film to fall in love with this product! And, now, I find I want to put it on everything!
angelina fibers

angelina fibers

I did have to do some research initially to see how to play with it- but, a quick tour on youtube and I was good to go and ready to try some of my own ideas on how to play.
by Kristin Peterson

by Kristin Peterson

My first try I started with a good hunk of film and a pinch of fibers. I made a video on how to play with the fibers and film which is available at my youtube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXmS_9YUk07MRc1Xp-YGfFQ)- that is the link to my channel.
While playing, i incorporated paper and fabric into my pieces. I found that if you sandwiched the paper or fabric between the fibers it will be held in place. When layering other paper or more fabric, I would sew it all together.
by Kristin Peterson

by Kristin Peterson

I liked folding the film over and putting microbeads into the fold to add texture to my piece. I also used my embosser heat gun to soften the edges so the edges were not so straight and hard. But, love mixing this film and fiber in with paper and fabric to give a little bling.
by Kristin Peterson

by Kristin Peterson

~Kristin
Thanks Kristin for another fun tutorial. I love adding little bits of angelina to projects. It adds a bit of sparkle or shimmer without having to use glitter (we love glitter but it isn’t always appropriate). Plus it is translucent which makes it perfect for making fairy wings or angel wings or dragonfly wings!  ~Deb
Angelina fibers and film  (you can purchase at Blue Twig Studio)
~Deb
Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play
Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918
719-266-1866
4 Responses to “We love sparkly stuff!”

  1. joyofartstudio January 22, 2015 at 11:02 am #

    Kristen thanks for the tutorial. l can not wait to try out Angelina Fifers in my own projects. Joy

    Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic January 23, 2015 at 11:28 am #

    Very interesting and lovely!

    Like

  3. kristin January 26, 2015 at 5:58 am #

    i saw the post when you got it posted, but, only on my phone- finally home from class and i did just have the greatest time playing with the film and fibers!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 26, 2015 at 8:53 am #

      there are so many possibilities to the angelina.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
