Week 1 – 365 days of art challenge

8 Jan
by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

Week 1 is in the books. I’m doing the 365 days of art challenge and making a postcard every single day. I love the opportunity to make art every day (even if it is only for a few minutes), but I will talk myself out of it and do other seemingly more important things (are they really more important?) if I’m not careful. So the challenge helps me to stay focused and on track since I am reporting my progress to you.

by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

The postcards are much larger than the inchies and twinchies I did last year, so already I am feeling a bit challenged (which is good for me). Plus it is going to be much easier to actually use up some of my many bits and pieces of ephemera I have collected.

by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

An additional benefit of doing daily postcards for the year, is that my word of the year is CONNECT, and postcards are a great tool to connect with people.

by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

One of the ideas I have for the postcard a day challenge is that I will randomly select somebody from the comments each week to receive a postcard (sometimes I might select several people). But you have to comment and you have to be sure I have an email address that you answer so I can get your mailing address from you.

by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

I’m thinking of some other ideas for the postcards that I will reveal in upcoming weeks. I hope you are also doing the 365 day challenge (whether it is daily or weekly art doesn’t matter) and I encourage you to share your own challenge here.

by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

I will be posting on Instagram and Facebook as well using #bts365days. You can tag your challenge art with the same tag and be part of the challenge.

by Deb Prewitt

by Deb Prewitt

 

Be sure to comment below and get your chance to receive a postcard. ๐Ÿ™‚

#bts365days

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

7 Responses to “Week 1 – 365 days of art challenge”

  1. Judy Edenstrom January 9, 2015 at 4:31 am #

    I think doing a postcard a day is a great idea. I think I will begin more slowly and promise a post card a week. My snail mail address is 7455 West Legacy Court, Sioux Falls, SD 57106. (I would love to receive one of your postcards.)

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 9, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

      A postcard a week is great – you will probably have more time to make it really special then. Perhaps you will get a postcard from me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Vicki Barton January 9, 2015 at 6:07 am #

    Deb, I love your excitement card. Your discipline is amazing and I just want to say thank you for sharing your journey. Vicki Barton

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 9, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks so much for saying that. I appreciate you following along with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. caryn august January 10, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    I love the postcards…I like the bigger format over the inchies and twinchies…my old eyes can see them better!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 10, 2015 at 6:57 pm #

      It is definitely a different format, even if what I do is the same.

      Like

  4. lynnk50 January 10, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

    Your postcards are fun! They are each so unique! I also like the bigger format – you seem more creative with them. What a fun way to also focus on your word of the year – Connect! I decided to do an art journal this year, to help improve my mixed-media skills. Although, I’m still waiting to receive my art journal. So I did some digital artwork and sketching this week. Both will be used in my art journaling at some point! Will keep you posted.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
