2015 – 365 Days of Art Challenge

24 Dec

For 2014 I did the 365 days of art challenge and I really enjoyed doing it. It was my first time doing the challenge and I learned a few things which I thought I would share with you (in case you are considering doing the challenge).

Blue Twig Studio 365 Days of Art

BTS 365 Days of Art

  1. Don’t try to do too much. I chose to do a daily challenge as well as a weekly challenge, and I definitely shouldn’t have done that. I was able to keep up with the daily challenge with no problem, but that extra weekly challenge seemed to be more difficult for me to keep up with. So don’t try to over-extend yourself.
  2. Know your limitations. What can you do and what do you want to do. If you have never done oil painting, then perhaps you don’t want to try to complete an oil painting every week. 🙂  It is OK to pick something that you want to improve or learn – but keep that learning curve in mind when beginning or you will be disappointed.
  3. Know how much time you have to do the challenge. If you have a couple hours every day to play, then you can be more ambitious with your challenge. But if you have 15 minutes, then you need something small to do. Make sure your challenge fits the time you have available.
  4. It’s OK to do some prep work if needed. When I traveled I packed a little kit of pre-cut inchies and some glue and stickers and pens to have with me. I also used a lot of bits and pieces of pre-painted  paper and fabric throughout the year. Don’t feel guilty if you do some work ahead of time. It is still your work.
  5. Remember to have fun with it and don’t stress about it! If you miss a day – that’s OK. Just start again the next day. The point is to challenge yourself to do more art. Whatever you do is going to be great.

I had a lot of fun with the challenge and I want to do it again for 2015. It forced me to do something creative every single day and that was really good for me. It made me happy (which was also important as my word of the year was JOY). Of course, I am going to do something different for this year. I know that I have limited time available so it has to be something that is fairly quick and easy. And it needs to be something I will like doing or I may struggle with getting it done, and I definitely don’t need to add anything to my schedule that will be a struggle.

So what shall I do for 2015? I have a few ideas, but which is the right one? I thought about ATCs, journal pages, Zentangle®,  postcards, or just a daily commitment to do something creative. All good ideas and all doable for me (I kept away from the more time-intensive ideas I had because I know my time is often limited.)

Now that I have picked my 2015 word of the year (CONNECT) I’ve decided to do postcards. It is creative and fun and not too overwhelming of a project. I can continue to use up all the bits and pieces and ephemera I’ve collected (the inchies and twinchies didn’t make much of a dent). AND it has the added benefit of being a connection tool, so I can also reinforce my word of the year. 🙂

Are you joining the challenge with me? I hope so. It is always good to have some company when doing a challenge, for the support and the encouragement that goes along with it. Leave a comment and let me know what your challenge will be for 2015. I’ll be starting my new postcard challenge on Jan 1st.

I’ll leave you with this quote from Seth Godin that I saw last week. It seemed to speak directly to the 365 days of art challenge. At least that is how I interpreted it.

“There’s a fundamental difference between the things you do every day, every single day, and the things you do only when the spirit moves you.

One difference is that once you’ve committed to doing something daily, you find that the spirit moves you, daily.

Rather than having a daily debate about today’s agenda, you can decide once that you will do something, and then decide every single day how to do it.”  ~ Seth Godin

I’m looking forward to 2015 and the new 365 days of art challenge. I’ll be posting photos on Instagram and Facebook as I do the daily postcards.

#bts365days

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

10 Responses to “2015 – 365 Days of Art Challenge”

  1. Melanie McNeil December 24, 2014 at 4:54 pm #

    Thanks for the quote. Yes, commit and the actions follow. Although it’s true that sometimes it’s a matter of “fake it ’til you make it!”

    Merry Christmas and best wishes for an artful new year.

    Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic December 26, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

    I like what Seth Godin said. 🙂 I will have to think about that. I usually create for some period of time and I do it like mad until the need to create dries out. Then I either do something else or just have to pause and wait for inspiration. But this really is something to think about. Thank you!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2014 at 4:40 pm #

      You manage to get a lot finished, so whatever you are doing is working pretty well.

      Like

  3. lynnk50 December 27, 2014 at 8:22 pm #

    I like Seth Godin’s comment. Very appropriate! I would like to do a challenge again this year. I enjoyed the weekly sketch and want to continue. Some ideas I have are photos/digital artwork or a watercolor sketch, or Zentangles. I’ll have to think about it a bit more. I think I have to set up something weekly – daily is a bit much, especially days when I watch the grandbabies. You give some very good tips for a challenge!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 28, 2014 at 8:13 am #

      It is a learn as you go type of thing, but I know a lot of people are drawn to this challenge and I figured a few tips would be good. I really did enjoy doing the 100 days of Zentangle, and I almost chose to do Zentangle for my 365 days of art. But I know I do that a lot anyway and decided to go with the postcards. I can’t wait to see what you decide.

      Like

  4. kristin January 9, 2015 at 5:42 am #

    loved your quote and what a great idea! i am hoping to “engage” (my word for 2015) and play along. 🙂 thanks for putting your idea out here for us to join! here is to connecting and engaging in 2015!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 9, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

      I love the word ‘engage’. So much opportunity there to explore.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 1 – 365 days of art challenge | Blue Twig Studio - January 8, 2015

    […] 1 is in the books. I’m doing the 365 days of art challenge and making a postcard every single day. I love the opportunity to make art every day (even if it is […]

    Like

  2. Word of the Year | Blue Twig Studio - November 2, 2015

    […] even did my 365 Days of Art Challenge as postcards so I could send them out into the world and connect with people that way. While I have […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
