Sometimes we learn what NOT to do!

22 Dec

Guest post by Design Team member Kristin Peterson

Comments in italics by Deb

I wanted to use the resin frames (Prima resin products) I had received from Blue Twig Studio to frame up some meaningful small pieces of work to hang in my studio.
IMG_5427[1]
The small one I used a piece of one of my newest matboard tiles that I had painted on. I measured the frame to ensure my piece would fit the frame and then glued it together. Once it was glued into place and had dried, I then added the word “dreams” and some small black seed beads. Note that this piece of matboard was sturdy and would not require any additional support on the back for the painting.
 
The larger frame I had chosen some of my overpainted paper that had a star on it, and had provided me with a secret celestial message the other night when working in my studio. I had measured again to ensure it would fit the frame and then, cut out the portion I wanted.
IMG_5403[1]
With the larger piece because I was using paper, I glued that first and then added a small fitted piece of cardboard to provide structure and hold my finish resin. I had also added small pink seed beads to this piece as well to help tie the two pieces together.
My project was going as planned until I got to the finishing….. I wanted to “fill” the frame and have my finished pieces be glossy. However, I had several choices on the finishing resin and made a fatefully wrong decision at this critical point….. I could have used epoxy, another type of resin, but, I used a product called “Triple Thick.”
IMG_5431[1]
It claims to have a brilliant gloss glaze and provide a non-yellowing clear finish. And, although that is probably all true, it apparently reacts with the beads and inks that were on my paper- blending all of it and leaving me with a very muddled pink mess in my larger frame. My smaller frame turned out better, but, the large frame is a mess. (sometimes it is the mistakes we make that teach us the most – I guess it pays to do a practice sample so you don’t ruin something truly important to you)
With the type of things I create, I believe at this point I am going to get rid of the product from my studio to make sure that this does not happen to me again……
Thanks!
Kristin Peterson
Thanks Kristin for the tutorials. Sorry your pieces got ‘muddled up’. Although they still look great to me! 
~Deb
Let Your Inner Artist out to Play
Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918
719-266-1866
4 Responses to “Sometimes we learn what NOT to do!”

  1. lynnk50 December 22, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

    What interesting frames!! Will have to try these! What size was the larger one? I like both pieces!They are lovely!! Would’ve never realized you had a problem with the larger one. But it’s good to know what not to do, too!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 23, 2014 at 7:43 am #

      Prima markets a number of resin embellishment products and people just don’t see that there are several sets of frames too.

      Like

  2. kristin December 23, 2014 at 6:04 am #

    Thank you Deb for pulling this all together! It is always good to share information like this so others do not make this mistake. 🙂 loved the frames!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 23, 2014 at 7:44 am #

      I liked your art work you put in the frames too. I’ve never used the product you tried so that was good information to know.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
