My 2015 Word of the Year

18 Dec

 

I’ve been selecting a Word of the Year for the past few years. I’ve given up on making resolutions, which tend to not get done, so then there is a sense of discouragement about not completing them. With a Word of the Year – I can just let the word happen and have it be a part of my everyday life. It is pretty remarkable. The word is always present in my mind – part of my daily life – part of my vocabulary – part of my experience. I don’t have ‘to do’ anything.

I review the past year – all the good stuff, all the things I accomplished, all the happy things going on, all the positive stuff going on in my life (no sense dwelling on the negative stuff). I look at what went right and I also look at my word of the year and how I embraced it and how it revealed itself in the various parts of my life. This is key for me – to see how the word presented itself and how it just became a part of my everyday life. And I also look at how it may have presented in unexpected areas of my life or in ways that I hadn’t planned on. That is the fun part. Because once you choose your word of the year – it will show up again and again and again.

So the past few weeks I’ve been looking at what my 2015 word of the year will be. I usually start to make a list, paying attention to how these words feel, how I respond to them, how they might impact my life, what might change if I choose a particular word, etc. I look up synonyms and see how they relate to what I am thinking.

So what will my 2015 word of the year be?  After much thought and analysis I’ve decided on the word “CONNECT“. In fact, I picked my word of the year a couple of times and wrote a couple of blog posts and then changed my mind a couple of times. Then I decided it isn’t that serious of a decision. Just decide already and if it isn’t a good word, I can change it. (Maybe I should have picked the word decide!)

Anyway, I have settled on the word CONNECT for 2015. I think this will be a good word for me. It should be a good word for both my personal and professional lives.

I want to connect more with my family and my friends. I want to connect more with my customers and my community. I want to connect more with my self and my art. I like it.

I look forward to using this word in the coming year and seeing where it might take me, how it might impact my daily life. That is really part of the experience of choosing a word of the year – seeing how the word starts working!

What is your word of the year? What do you expect from your word? Please share.

 

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

10 Responses to “My 2015 Word of the Year”

  1. Melanie McNeil December 18, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

    I may have mentioned on another post… my word for 2014 was “EXPERIMENT!” I expected to change it, but it permeated so much of my life, just as you say above. I will use the same word for 2015. Here is my post on it:
    https://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/2014/12/06/what-was-the-word/

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 19, 2014 at 7:42 am #

      Sometimes a word just works so well that you want to keep it around longer. Experiment is a great word too.

      Like

  2. metaphysicalquilter December 19, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    I love your word this year. Would you mind if I shared this on the Colorado SAQA Blog? (With credit to you!)

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 19, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Absolutely you can share it. I think it is a great word!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2015 – 365 Days of Art Challenge | Blue Twig Studio - December 24, 2014

    […] that I have picked my 2015 word of the year (CONNECT) I’ve decided to do postcards. It is creative and fun and not too overwhelming of a […]

    Like

  2. Week 1 – 365 days of art challenge | Blue Twig Studio - January 8, 2015

    […] additional benefit of doing daily postcards for the year, is that my word of the year is CONNECT, and postcards are a great tool to connect with […]

    Like

  3. Week 4 – 365 days of art | Blue Twig Studio - January 29, 2015

    […] you may receive a postcard in the mail from me. I’m trying to send out some of them to connect with my readers. And of course, keeping some of them for me. […]

    Like

  4. Book Club Review – Show Your Work | Blue Twig Studio - April 5, 2015

    […] are all part of a connection (and connect is my word of the year – funny how it always shows up) – with the social networks out there now, we […]

    Like

  5. Word of the Year | Blue Twig Studio - November 2, 2015

    […] I wanted to revisit my 2015 Word of the Year and review how it showed up in my life. My word was CONNECT. I wanted to spend the year working on […]

    Like

  6. My Word of the Year 2016 | Blue Twig Studio - December 20, 2015

    […] don’t do New Year Resolutions anymore. Instead I choose a Word of the Year. The Word finds itself into all aspects of my life – sometimes in ways that are unexpected. […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
