My Word of the Year

1 Dec

We are winding down with 2014 and getting ready for 2015. Every year I choose a Word of the Year. I embrace that word as much as possible, creating little bits of art with the word, spending time thinking about the word, journaling about the word, living the word. Many of you probably do the same thing every year, choosing a word or a phrase. It really is just a way to guide you through the year, and direct your attention where you want it.

I find it interesting how the word creeps into your life without you even thinking about it. And when you DO think about it, then it is even more powerful.

I know the word I need will find me. So over the next few weeks I will be noticing where my thoughts go, what words or phrases grab my attention, what direction I’d like to go in the upcoming year. I’ll jot them down and then spend some time thinking about these words and why each one might be a good choice for 2015. The right word will speak to me. How do you choose your word of the year?

This year my word was JOY. I wanted to focus on the joy of everyday life, and so I did. Over the past few years my words have been: focus, seek, play, explore, joy………perhaps one of these words will be your word in 2015. They were all good words for me.

Stay tuned for my  2015 Word of the Year coming soon. I hope you will join me and share your Word of the Year.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

13 Responses to “My Word of the Year”

  1. Judy Edenstrom December 2, 2014 at 6:56 am #

    As an ex-English teacher, I am perhaps more in love with words than most people. I really like the idea of a word of the year. I will contemplate what mine should be.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 2, 2014 at 7:43 am #

      I’ve found it to be quite empowering. I hope you find a word to use.

      Like

  2. joyofartstudio December 3, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    I will ask in my birthday reading today and share did you get the angel yet?

    Like

  3. Melanie McNeil December 4, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

    This year my word has been “EXPERIMENT!” Yes, in all caps and with an exclamation point! The emphasis was not angry or scolding, but cheering. It means try things you haven’t tried before. Try several iterations, sometimes, until you figure out what really works. Don’t get discouraged and don’t give up until you know you’re done, you’ve gotten what you needed out of the process. Remember that the goal of an experiment is to learn, and success is in the learning, not in the product/outcome. This word worked well for me, for both my quilting/creative life and the rest of my personal life. I am bolder now and more persistent in some creative areas. I worked in series in my quilts and continue to find new means of expression in the same form. My word for next year is “explore.” I don’t know if I need the caps and exclamation point anymore! “Explore” also will push me to try new things, and to take some paths with unknown endings. We will see where that leads me. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 4, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

      I used explore last year which was a good word to have. I like the Experiment word. One of the words that has crept onto my potential list is Experience, which is similar but not exactly the same. I like how the word we choose really permeates all parts of our life – even in areas we wouldn’t think it would apply. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

      • joyofartstudio December 5, 2014 at 8:21 am #

        My word is explore I want explore my inner and outer boundaries of both myself and my word explore new unexplored areas of my creativity, skills, journaling/writing my business and my spirituality, my community connection and new ways of creating. I did a page in my creative journal and even explored the use of egg white in my paint and wrote explore in one of the very cool techniques by the way creating with egg white is very ancient and goes back to the masters in their use of egg white in their tempera paint to do glazing.. I will be demonstrating this on my blog and posting the page of my journal. thanks for doing t his word project love it! Joy

        Like

  4. lynnk50 December 10, 2014 at 11:13 am #

    I like the idea of a word of the year. I’ve never done that before. I’ll have to think about this the next couple weeks and see what speaks to me as being my word of the year. Thanks, Joy, for sharing your “EXPERIMENT!” and “explore” words and why you chose those. Gives me more to think about in choosing a word. I’ll let you know what I decide.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
