Week 45 – 365 days of Art

11 Nov

Week 45 of 365 days of art. I’m still hanging in there getting the little bits of art done. I’m so close to the end now that I won’t quit!

I had fun, as always, with the inchies and twinches. I like that I can use a variety of products – tapes, fabric, paint, junk mail & packaging, buttons, stamps, markers, etc. Sometimes I add stitching, other times I just use glue.  It is challenging to keep finding something new to do while keeping it fairly simple and easy (I don’t want to buy any new supplies for these), but still interesting to look at. And even though I have been using up all my little scraps and bits of pieces, I haven’t even made a bit of a dent in my supplies.

I did a sketch this week. Although it technically isn’t a sketch. Ha Ha. I’ve been playing with alcohol inks to prepare for a class next week. And I know that the AI don’t work on porous surfaces like sketch paper, but I wanted to explore what they would do on paper. I made some landscape type lines with a pen and then went in with the Alcohol Inks and used them. Of course they just instantly soaked into the paper and dried immediately, but they gave a cool effect. Then I went over them with my PanPastels to give a softer blended look, which I really like. Then I went back in on top with my pen again to add some more lines, just for added texture and pattern. The pen marks are hard to see against the AI, but it adds a bit more interest to it when you are up close.  Except for the accidentally splashed blue dot in my sky, I think it looks fine.

How is your own challenge coming? It is almost time to start thinking about next years challenge, at least to start percolating some ideas of what to do. Please share your own journey with us.

#bts365days

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

 

4 Responses to “Week 45 – 365 days of Art”

  1. lynnk50 November 14, 2014 at 1:15 am #

    I enjoy your inchies. It’s amazing what you can accomplish with such small pieces of art! Can’t wait to see what you do with them at the end of the year!! I like your alcohol ink “sketch”. The AI are so vivid, even on the paper! Have you tried them on Yupo paper? I’m still learning what all I can do with Yupo! (and AI!).

    I did another dragon sketch this week. If I can do a sketch everyone week, I should finish the book by the end of the year!! Whoo-hoo!! http://lynnitaknoch.blogspot.com/2014/11/week-45-of-365-days-of-art-challenge.html

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 14, 2014 at 7:27 am #

      The owl is on yupo paper. I’m actually teaching a class on AI this weekend, so have been trying to prepare for that.

      Like

  2. Deborah Pace November 17, 2014 at 8:07 am #

    I don’t know how you come up with so many ideas?!?

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
