100 days to 100% – Day 20

8 Jun

100-png-md

We are 20 days into our journey of 100 days to 100%! It is probably a little tough this week. Maybe you are seeing some results so you feel a little bit better, but you are starting to realize that 100 days is a long commitment. I know how you feel. I’ve been walking more and eating better (most of the time) and paying attention to how I feel and what I really want. I’m keeping track of what I am grateful for and making sure I set my intentions daily.  I also started Sandra Yancey’s 30-day squat challenge last week and I am sore!  But in a good way.  Thankfully today was a rest day, but yesterday we did 80 squats. I’m impressed that I could do it!  Yet it is easy to start to talk yourself into letting up and not working quite so hard. Don’t do it! Hang in there with me!

One of the things I do for myself, is have a daily green smoothies. It really is an easy way to add good nutrition to your diet without much trouble. I don’t have a juicer (although I am thinking about investing in one), but I do have a blender and I can put a lot of different things in the blender and have a tasty and nutritious drink.

© Jenny King | Dreamstime Stock Photos

© Jenny King | Dreamstime Stock Photos

I usually start with almond milk or coconut water as my base. Then I always add my ‘green’ stuff. Kale is my favorite and is really good for you. But I also like using avacado, spinach, celery, lettuce, etc. Whatever is in the fridge.  I also add in some fruit. I like using berries, peaches, bananas, pineapple, limes,  kiwi, etc. I will sometimes add in some almond butter or raw cocao for a little different flavor. I always add ice and sometimes honey or agave nectar as well. The nice thing is that you can use the  fruit that is starting to get mushy. Buying your produce from local Farmer’s Markets just adds one more layer of goodness to the experience. And really, you can throw anything into your smoothie that you want. If you have a juicer, you have even more options.

As temperatures heat up the summer days, a nice cold smoothie tastes great to start the day. 🙂  What is your favorite thing to add to your smoothie?

#100daysto100%

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram and Twitter.

Sign up for our newsletter here.

6 Responses to “100 days to 100% – Day 20”

  1. Kathy June 10, 2014 at 9:38 am #

    We love smoothies in the morning too, Deb. All the berry varieties, mango, banana, pineapple, peaches, apple, melon, spinach, carrots; we mix and match them all. We start with nonfat milk and greek yogurt and add chia seed or protein powder. You have to soak chia seed first, but it is a great source for protein and a lot more. No gas like with flax seed. 😀

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 10, 2014 at 10:29 am #

      My daughter uses the chia seeds too. I haven’t tried those yet, but I will.

      Like

  2. Kathy June 10, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    Oops, forgot to mention that we use frozen fruit instead of ice. Gives you lots of options for more goodness.

    Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic June 10, 2014 at 10:19 am #

    I guess smoothie is better than anything from a juicer because you get fibers as well as vitamins. I like fruity drinks with banana as a base, then I add all kinds of berries. Or even apples! It’s always fruit first in the morning for me, and then after two or three hours I have my breakfast. I don’t know if that is good or not, but I like it like that. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 10, 2014 at 10:31 am #

      Sounds like a good plan to me. I tried tomatoes in my smoothie yesterday. It definitely affected the taste, but it worked quite well. I’d probably want to use some stronger fruit flavor if I did it again.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
