100 days to 100% – Day 10

29 May

We have now reached the 10-day mark of our 100 days to 100% challenge! How do you feel today? Have you noticed changes yet? If not, don’t worry, we are still early in the game.

100-png-md

One of the things I respond to is positive reinforcement. One way I’ve found to do this is to use a pedometer. Whenever I have used one in the past, I have increased my walking steps dramatically. I like writing down the number of steps I have taken at the end of each day. I like seeing that the number goes up or at least stays steady every week. I like adding in a BIG walking day every now and then. If I have to write down a low number because I didn’t get out and move much that day, then I am even more motivated to do something the next day.

I know that walking is easy to do and I can do it anywhere. No need for fancy or expensive equipment. It’s not necessary to join a gym or a club.  Just some walking shoes, sunscreen, and a hat. That is it!!!!

clip-art-walking-680741

I use the pedometer when I have one. 🙂  I do tend to drop them and break them or lose them somewhere, so I don’t invest in the fancy ones. I buy the cheapest one I can find, and it gets the job done for me. It tracks my steps and that is really all I need it to do. But even that isn’t necessary to get optimal value from your walk.

I am aiming for 10K steps per day minimum. I used to do that easily every day, but lately I have slacked off on the amount of walking I do. So I am motivated to increase those numbers again. I only had one day over 10K steps in this first 10 days of our challenge, but I had quite a few that were over 8K steps, so I am close.

I am also going to join Sandra Yancey with her next session of Squat Squad. She posts the number of squats to do every day and you start slow and build up to a bunch – I guess I’m not sure the end target but I think it is 250 squats in one day. WOW! But you know you are going to feel awesome and look awesome at the end of this challenge. She is starting the next round on Saturday. I’ll let you know how I do with it. Maybe you want to do it too?

A key to reaching your goals is knowing how best you work. Do you like exercising alone? Do you want to team up with a buddy? Do you want to work at a gym? Or in your home? Figure out how you get the most benefit and then do that. I know that I prefer walking alone, but that I am also OK walking with someone. When we had dogs it was great to get outside and walk the dogs every day. They were always ready to go and never had excuses to not go out, so that motivated us to go out as well. Keeping motivated is a big key.

We are on our way to 100 days to 100%. I feel better just knowing I am being proactive. How about you?

I’ll be checking in again on Day 20.

#100daysto100%

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

Sign up for our newsletter here.

Like us on Facebook.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “100 days to 100% – Day 10”

  1. Sonja Milojevic May 30, 2014 at 12:33 pm #

    I can only thank my dog for getting me out of the flat. I am probably the laziest person in the world when it comes to exercise. But now I walk at least one and a half hours a day. Probably not enough to be fit but it will have to do. Lol!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 30, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

      Having dogs is a great way to get exercise. 1 1/2 hrs a day is awesome for walking. I hardly ever get that much in anymore due to spending so many hours at the shop. I miss being outside.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
