100 days to 100%

19 May

I recently attended an eWomen event where Sandra Yancey was speaking. I absolutely adore her and am so impressed by her. I’ve heard her speak several times and I have to say that she was the inspiration for me to join the eWomen organization.

At this event she spoke about a lot of things and I could write any number of posts about various points she made. She really is a wonderful speaker and if you get the chance to hear her, you should take it.

One of her points was that you really need to take care of yourself! We often are so busy taking care of everyone and everything else that we never get around to really taking care of ourselves. We put ourselves at the bottom of the list. That is really going to lead to burn-out and fatigue and depression and unhappiness. How does that help anyone? Sandra has been on a quest to take care of herself, in body, mind, and soul, and she encourages all of us to do the same.

But one thing really jumped out for me, and it was really an answer to a question that somebody asked her. She was asked if she could say how long after she started doing the workouts and eating better, etc. that she started feeling better and how much better. She said 100 days to 100% better. WOW!

So a 100 days seems like a long time, but like she said, those 100 days are going to pass anyway. Why not make a commitment to yourself and make those 100 days work for you.

She reminded me that I had been neglecting my personal self for awhile. For many years (being young and unrealistic) I took my body and my health for granted. Then I hit 50 and all of a sudden I realized I wasn’t getting any younger (surprise, surprise) and that I needed to make some changes. I changed careers, I started exercising, I made some changes in my eating habits, I started getting more sleep, I spent more time reflecting and doing things I liked to do. I did notice some changes and I felt better and looked better and was happier. Woo hoo!

But then I opened my new brick and mortar retail shop and all of a sudden I started neglecting myself in order to put more into the shop. I am in the start-up phase and all my energy, my time, my money, my thoughts, all go to the shop. And of course, it does need me. There is no doubt that having a new business requires much of you. I knew that going in and am willing to do what I need to do.

It is easy to get complacent about our journey. We work out diligently and eat healthy and are happy with our results, only to start slacking off a bit here and there – not too much, just a little bit – and then before we know it we are only working out once in awhile and we start grabbing something at the drive-thru because it is easy, and we start staying up late working, and bang! we are right back where we started from and we didn’t even realize it happened.

Yet, Sandra helped me to understand that if I neglect myself for someone or something else, then pretty soon I won’t be able to give anything more. I will be used up! I don’t want that. I want to feel good, I want to be healthy, I want to have the energy I need to give to my shopย to help it grow.

So I am ready to start my new challenge of 100 day to 100%. I aim to add more exercise back into my schedule, and get back to eating better again, and to nourish my soul too. The reflections and self-discovery that are part of knowing exactly who I am and what I want will be part of that 100 days too. 100 days puts us about the end of August. I’m excited to see where I am at the end of my 100 days.

Who wants to join me on this journey? Who wants to take back their lives and be happier and healthier in the process? We can do it together! I will be posting here telling you about my progress and I hope you share with me about your progress. I will also post to Instagram and Facebook and Twitter using #100daysto100%.

100-png-md

#100daysto100%

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

 

 

22 Responses to “100 days to 100%”

  1. rlegge@centurylink.net May 20, 2014 at 10:41 am #

    Hi Deb, The Blue Twig came up quite a bit last night at the FRCQ meeting!

    There are new small groups forming. I know that at least one is planning to come meet there, and I pointed other CO Springs people your way too, since you have mixed media groups and a new art journal group happening.

    Rose

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 20, 2014 at 10:49 am #

      very nice. Thanks Rose. I totally forgot it was FRCQ last night. Ha Ha

      Like

  2. kathleenwatson May 20, 2014 at 11:29 am #

    Deb, I started using two different tools to help me stay on top of my self care.

    One is my trusty online timer. I set it for 50 minutes, and when it goes off, I know I’m due to give my poor butt a 10-minute break. I keep my yoga mat in my office, and it’s amazing how much better my fanny and legs feel after a nice, slow, wide-legged forward bend.

    The other secret is meeting my sister three times a week for a work-out date. Sometimes we do cardio, sometimes strength training, sometimes stretching, but we ALWAYS get in motion. We’ve been at it for over a year, and we rarely miss. Having a partner or accountability buddy is just huge!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 20, 2014 at 11:41 am #

      I like that timer idea. Too often we sit and work at our desks and don’t even pay attention to how much time has passed since we last got up and moved around.

      Meeting your sister is a great motivator. You get to hang out together and do something good for you too! Excellent.

      Like

  3. Lori Nash Byron May 23, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

    Go, Deb, go! I’m totally inspired by your 100 days to 100%. Please continue sharing your progress – we’ll be your cheering squad.

    I love Kathleen’s trick of using a timer as a reminder to take quick stretching breaks.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 23, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks Lori. I am excited about the journey. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Tricia May 26, 2014 at 9:09 am #

    I so relate! Thank you for sharing your perspective. 100 days to 100% is a great way to look at it. For me it is so important for me to do this as a model to my son who also needs to see that being busy doesn’t mean a person can’t be balanced. Thank you!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 26, 2014 at 9:55 am #

      You are right. Modeling this to the next generation is important.

      Like

  5. anothergoodday May 26, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    I thought this was an awesome post and have been thinking about it ever since I saw it. My husband is constantly after me to take better care of myself and I’m always ignoring his advice because I always think “Next week” or “I can’t do that yet because I have too much else going on.” But because of various health issues, I’m taking a second look at what’s he’s been suggesting. A hundred days from now I hope to be in a better place healthwise! Thank you for the inspiration!!!!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 26, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

      I’m so happy that you are going to join the challenge. It is all too easy to put off the things we know we need to do, in order to do the things that we think we should do. It isn’t very healthy. I wish you success with your challenge. I have faith that you can do it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Kelly May 27, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

    What an awesome challenge to be part of! I love it. As a registered nurse and owner of a business that educates about the need and acceptance of delegation… This is a huge factor that ties into my big mission through my business.

    Thank you for this post! I love the idea and think I should be setting a timer too!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 27, 2014 at 8:07 pm #

      Excellent Kelly. Delegation is an absolute must to help us with our self-care.

      Like

  7. Lynnita Knoch May 28, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

    Great post! It does take time to make things a habit – the habit of exercising regularly and eating well! My husband and I have been trying to do better this past year. We’ve been walking daily, even now that’s it’s getting hot out – just walking after the sun goes down. Our budget means we’ve got to find new, creative ways to eat healthy that are affordable! Love the timer idea – I do well with quilting at getting up regularly, but not when painting and drawing!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 28, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

      It amuses me that bad habits are so much easier to maintain than good habits. I wonder why that is?

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100 days to 100% – Day 10 | Blue Twig Studio - May 29, 2014

    […] have now reached the 10-day mark of our 100 days to 100% challenge! How do you feel today? Have you noticed changes yet? If not, don’t worry, we are still early […]

    Like

  2. 100 days to 100% – Day 20 | Blue Twig Studio - June 8, 2014

    […] are 20 days into our journey of 100 days to 100%! It is probably a little tough this week. Maybe you are seeing some results so you feel a little […]

    Like

  3. 100 days to 100% – Day 41 | Blue Twig Studio - June 29, 2014

    […] attention to the days, so I missed day 40. So today is day 41 of our challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love this 100 days to 100% challenge! It is an amazing […]

    Like

  4. 100 days to 100% – Day 50 | Blue Twig Studio - July 8, 2014

    […] 50 of our challenge! We are halfway there! 100 days to 100%! Yes Yes […]

    Like

  5. 100 days to 100% – Day 60 | Blue Twig Studio - July 18, 2014

    […] Day 60 – that just snuck up on us, didn’t it? 60 days of our 100 days gone in a flash! 100 days to 100%ย  […]

    Like

  6. Round 2 of 100 days to 100% | Blue Twig Studio - August 30, 2014

    […] you know, I recently finished my 100 days to 100% challenge. Now I am ready for round 2 of the challenge. Are you with […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
