Easy Mixed Media Project

20 Apr

We recently created a fun mixed media project for our Arty Party. The Arty Party is a monthly class that is a lot of fun. Every month we do something different and always have a good time being creative. The best part of the Arty Party is that it is a mystery. You don’t get to know what the project is ahead of time. You just show up and then we start playing and creating. Everyone always does an amazing job!

For this project we started with a painted canvas board and set it aside to dry while we worked on the painted papers. (You can also use a cradled canvas.) I used black paint because I like the contrast, but you can use any color you like.

P1030259

Then we started painting our papers. Just start layering paint. I like to use the scraping method (using an old gift card or key card works great), but you can use a brush too. The key is to keep adding layers, but to let each layer dry completely in between (you can use a heat gun to speed up the process). If you don’t let them dry, you will end up with a muddy mucky mess. You will want to add some extra layers with paint, using stamps or stencils or drawing with skewers or spraying or dripping. The more layers the better.  The layers are what makes the art interesting.

For this project, keep a lot of variety in your work. Since you will be cutting up your painted paper, be sure to keep it layered and interesting. It is OK to have an ugly paper. In fact, this project is perfect for some of those painted pages you have that you maybe don’t really like very much. We all have them!

Once you have layers that you are happy with, you can move on to the next part.  You will now take a marker (I used black) and start writing on your painted page. Write big and bold and cover your page. You can write a message to yourself, your favorite words, a quote, the names of your kids, etc. We are going to cut it all up so it doesn’t matter too much what you write.

P1030272

Then you will take a smaller nib pen, preferably in a contrasting color. I like to use metallic pens. You can do more writing if you like, or you can do what I did. I used fake writing. It is kind of fun. I just sort of use loopy scribbling and pretend to write words and just covered the painted page again. I will often turn the page in different directions, making sure to get a lot of coverage.

For the Arty Party, we used Aileen’s tacky paper which is a great adhesive paper. It is marketed for fabric, but I figured it would work just as well on paper.  Peel your tacky paper and adhere it to the back of your painted paper, carefully smoothing it out.  Now start cutting it up. I also tried this using gel medium as an adhesive. I found that if I was using the cradled canvases, I needed gel medium. The tacky paper didn’t work quite as well on a surface that has some give to it. (It did work great on the hard canvas boards though.)

Then I started cutting up my paper. You probably need to have a general idea of the look you want before your start cutting. I started by cutting strips of my paper and then cut those strips into small squares. You can also use the strips by themselves and cut the in different lengths (like one of mine shown at the end of the post), or cut random shaped squares and rectangles or various other shapes. Use your imagination and have fun with it.  You can really get creative in this (as the Arty Party students were).

After you cut up your paper, then you just start rearranging them into a different order. Really mix them up, turn some bits upside down or sideways to create even more interest. After you are happy with the placement, start adhering your pieces down – either using the tacky paper or the gel medium. (Keep in mind you will probably end up with lots of extra bits.)

If you are using the sticky paper, I recommend piling some magazines or books on the piece for a couple of days to really adhere your paper. If you are using gel medium or mod podge, be sure to use plenty on the bottom and on the top of your bits to adhere it really well.

Super easy and fun to do. Have fun!

 

6/28/14 NOTE: I’M NOT SATISFIED WITH THE LONG-TERM RESULTS OF THE AILEEN’S TACKY PAPER WITH THIS PROJECT. I’VE USED THIS TACKY PAPER WITH FABRIC WITH GOOD RESULTS. AND I THINK WITH PAPER ALONE IT WOULD WORK FINE, BUT THE EDGES HAVE STARTED CURLING UP ON ALL OF THE PIECES I DID. PERHAPS BECAUSE WE WERE ATTACHING TO A PAINTED SURFACE? I’M NOT SURE. FOR BETTER RESULTS YOU SHOULD USE GEL MEDIUM OR MOD PODGE OR SIMILAR.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, Co 80918 – USA

719-266-1866

16 Responses to “Easy Mixed Media Project”

  1. Rose Legge April 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm #

    Beautiful!
    Love this . . .

    Like

  2. creativespiritarts April 20, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

    Fun idea! Looks great! Can’t wait to try this. 😀

    Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic April 26, 2014 at 5:59 pm #

    Wow! These canvases are amazing! I love this! Thank you for the idea!

    Like

  4. Deb Prewitt July 23, 2015 at 7:38 am #

    Reblogged this on Blue Twig Studio and commented:

    As part of Seth Apter’s Buried Treasure blog project, I am resharing this blog post from last year. Visit Seth’s blog Altered Page to see other buried treasure blog posts.

    Like

  5. Deborah Pace July 23, 2015 at 8:19 am #

    I love this idea and seen it done before, but never tried it. I’ll have to give it a go sometime. I especially liked the blue ones, but then again I am partial to blue.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 23, 2015 at 12:34 pm #

      I’ve made quite a few of them, different colors – using different size papers and canvases. When we did the class, everyone was so creative in what they made.

      Like

  6. joiatrr July 23, 2015 at 5:52 pm #

    What a fun tutorial and neat pictures. I love the idea of just being so free painting the colors and writing/doodling etc! Thanks bunches for sharing Deb. j.

    Like

  7. Bleubeard and Elizabeth July 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm #

    i remember making these serendipity squares years ago. Thanks for reposting this AND for reminding me what fun these squares were the first time I made them. I sure liked what YOU created and am glad you updated so I know what products NOT to use.

    Like

  8. mjmarmo July 26, 2015 at 8:28 pm #

    Wow- such fun! Love how you did this!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Mixed Media Project | Girl's Crazy Thoughts and Ideas :) - May 2, 2014

    […] Easy Mixed Media Project. […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
