Modern Hand Stitching book review and a giveaway

7 Apr

My friend Ruth Chandler has a new book out called Modern Hand Stitching. I know I have mentioned that Ruth is a stitch goddess, and I truly mean that.  She does amazing hand stitch work and she makes it look so effortless and easy and beautiful, so that you really feel like you can do it too!

Modern Hand Stitching by Ruth Chandler

Modern Hand Stitching by Ruth Chandler

I am loving her new book Modern Hand Stitching. She has been working on this book for awhile now and I am pleased to say it is finally available for purchase.

The book is broken up into easy to read chapters with lots of great photos. There is information on the tools of the trade, including needles and threads and thimbles, etc, plus a nice section on how to create your own Stitch Play reference book (in case you aren’t able to take the class from Ruth).

She walks you through numerous basic stitches and then variations of the stitches. I love the little boxes with extra helpful tips to make your stitching experience the best it can be. Even if you have never done any hand stitching at all, you can follow along with the easy to read instructions and close-up photos. She truly makes it easy for you to do!

There are fabulous Inspiration Pieces (which we will be doing individual classes on in the near future)  included that Ruth has created, each one using only one type of stitch for the entire piece. If she didn’t tell you that, you would never know, because they all look so rich and detailed and complex. There are also art pieces stitched by others that are included in the book so you can see examples of using hand stitching in a variety of ways (full disclosure: I have a piece in the book).

One of my favorite things about the book is that Ruth encourages you to be creative and make the stitches your own. Go ahead and be wonky and use unusual materials and layer your stitching.  She truly does want you to have fun and enjoy the stitching. Too many of us grew up learning embroidery and having to take out stitches that weren’t exactly perfect. That takes the fun out of it. Ruth isn’t the “embroidery police”. She says if you make a mistake, just keep going. It’s OK!  Nobody is going to notice it anyway.

I’m happy that the book is finally in my hands (and in my store). I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about using hand stitching in their art work. And if you are able to take her class – that is even better! I know you will take away a new set of skills and learn that hand stitching can be enjoyable and relaxing and can be included in a variety of art projects. Plus you will make the adorable Stitch Play sampler reference book.

Stitch Play Sampler by Ruth Chandler

Stitch Play Sampler by Ruth Chandler

We are hosting a Book Signing at Blue Twig Studio on April 12th from 10:30-11:30. If you are in the area, please stop by to meet Ruth and get an autographed book. We will also be having some giveaways during the book signing, so you will want to stick around. If you aren’t local, you can still purchase the book here, and I will have Ruth sign it for you (be sure to let me know in the comments section of your order if you want anything special written).

If you are interested in taking the Stitch Play class with Ruth Chandler, be sure to get registered early as there is limited space available.

And finally, we are doing a giveaway of a this fabulous book! Just comment below to be entered in the drawing. Please comment about your favorite stitch to do, or what stitch you would like to learn how to do.

If you share on any of the social media platforms, leave a message stating that and that will give you another chance to win the book. Of course, Ruth will autograph the book for you too!

Leave your comments and share the post and be sure I can reach you to let you know you have won (or check back to find out). I will draw the winner on April 13th.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

 

 

57 Responses to “Modern Hand Stitching book review and a giveaway”

  1. Rose Legge April 7, 2014 at 2:17 pm #

    I so love the cover of the book- makes you want to touch the stitches!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 7, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

      They selected a great piece of stitching for the cover.

      Like

  2. carmelle tidd April 7, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

    I can do the satin stitch, so learning anything other than that would be bonus…I am sharing on Facebook.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 7, 2014 at 4:40 pm #

      I can do the satin stitch too, but it isn’t my favorite stitch. Thanks for sharing on FB!

      Like

  3. Lynn Kunz April 7, 2014 at 7:53 pm #

    I try to use hand embroidery on many of my art pieces, but I am definitely limited in what I am able to do reasonably well. I would LOVE to have Ruth’s book and learn more stitches. I’m crossing my fingers…
    Lynn Kunz

    Like

  4. Lynnita Knoch April 8, 2014 at 12:34 am #

    I love doing hand stitching and adding embroidery work for embellishments. Ruth’s new book looks wonderful and I love the cover!! Wish I lived closer to come to signing and take a class with Ruth! AZ is a bit far to commute! Lol! Would love to win a copy of her book!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 7:50 am #

      It is a bit of a commute, but Colorado is an excellent place to come to visit! 🙂

      Like

  5. Christa April 8, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    Awesome! I’ve got my copy coming soon 😉 I’ll be sharing this on fb! I’m super excited to play with this book because my handstitching skills stop after sewing on buttons. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 1:08 pm #

      You know that Ruth is the best at hand stitching. 🙂

      Like

  6. Sandy Hunter April 8, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    I have never tried this kind of thing before, but I’d love to! I started quilting about a year ago and learning hand stitching seems like a natural progression. :o) I’ve never tried a blanket stitch, but I love the way it looks. I’d have to ease into the more complicated ones.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

      The blanket stitch is easy to do, as are most of the stitches. Once you have the basic stitch down, then you can start improvising and having more fun with it.

      Like

  7. Genevieve Crabe April 8, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

    This looks like a great book for me. I have been doing bead embroidery for many years, and I am just starting to learn stitch embroidery. I don’t have a favourite stitch yet.

    Like

  8. Melissa T. April 8, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

    I can do a few stiches, but only the ones I remember that my grandmother taught me as a child. This book looks so facinating. If only I had a private jet, I would fly up to Colorado and take the class!! Thank you so much for the giveaway. I’ll be crossing my fingers!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

      I think most of us learned from our grandmother. 🙂 I used to know a lot of stitches and then forgot them because I wasn’t using them. When I took Ruth’s class they started to come back to me again. Good luck!

      Like

  9. Rebecca Kahler April 8, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

    I remember learning the French knot when I was a child. It was what I thought was the hardest stitch ever ( I was doing my needlework badge for scouts) and how thrilled I was when I mastered it. I French knotted everything. It’s always been my favorite, because I still feel that childhood sense of accomplishment when I work it.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 3:41 pm #

      I love doing the french knots too, and yes they were hard to learn but once I figured it out, I added them everywhere too. 🙂

      Like

  10. MaryAnn Scheblein-Dawson April 8, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

    This really draws me in! I’d love to add more hand-stitched embellishments to my work and I think it goes very nicely with the Zentangle concept….. each stitch is a pattern and then you repeat it again and again.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

      Very nice analogy to Zentangle. I think if you printed out some Zen patterns on fabric and then went in and added stitching it would be quite wonderful!

      Like

  11. Martice Smith II April 8, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

    Cool giveaway, Deb! Thank you for the review, as well. I’d love to learn how I can incorporate embroidery into my mixed-media artworks. I’m an advanced seamstress but hardly ever combine the two. I admire Ruth’s take on making sewing part of an expressive art form and not just for functionality. Thanks for the chance to win! I’ve shared in two FB groups and on Google+!!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 3:43 pm #

      Thanks for sharing! You are awesome! Ruth adds stitching to all kinds of projects and mixed-media is a perfect format for adding funky hand stitching. There are so many options for you to do. Good luck!

      Like

  12. Kimberly Barcello April 8, 2014 at 4:00 pm #

    My favorite stitch? Oh my! I have many favs, but I think I still love to do French knots the best.

    Like

  13. uncommonlife April 8, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

    I don’t know enough about stitching to know what they are called. I have been making do with what I can make up in my head, so Ruth’s book would be great so I could learn the right way. I am too far away to take the in-person class. I am a bookmaker, so the book project in the photo is very intriguing to me.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

      The book has the instructions to create your own stitching sampler book like the one in the photo. 🙂

      Like

  14. Ellen Gozeling April 8, 2014 at 4:30 pm #

    I will check out if the book will be availible in Europe. Would love a copy!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

      Maybe you will win! If not, I offer Intl shipping thru my website so you could order a copy. 🙂

      Like

  15. Brenda Wilkerson April 8, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    We have a few generations in my family who work with threads and yarns… My mother is 82 and still crochets all our dish cloths with cotton!! This book would be a treasure to pass around the generations!!!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 5:13 pm #

      It definitely would be a good book to share. I love my hand-crocheted dish cloths.

      Like

  16. Susan Nutting April 8, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

    Would love to win a copy of this book! I have been enjoying how relaxing hand stitching can be! I love doing the chain stitch. Also, shared your post my FB wall!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 8, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

      Thanks Susan. The chain stitch is an easy basic stitch that can be changed up to be very cool. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

      Like

  17. kristin April 8, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

    the book looks amazing!! and her stitches are so adorable!! I can sew on my machine, but, have never really done any stitching of this sort and would love to learn.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 9, 2014 at 7:29 am #

      Stitching by hand makes everything so much more personal I think.

      Like

  18. kristin April 8, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    i also shared on FB and twitter 🙂

    Like

  19. Kathy April 8, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    Oh my gosh!!! This looks awesome! I used to do embroidery and crewel work. Would be delighted if I won this book. I just know it would inspire me to do more with stitching!!!

    Like

  20. Kathy April 8, 2014 at 10:13 pm #

    ps Whoever wins is indeed fortunate!!!!

    Like

  21. Julie Lazarus April 8, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

    French knot i learned later in life, love to do embroidery

    Like

  22. terzae April 9, 2014 at 6:53 am #

    Reblogged this on The TerZa Factor and commented:
    Excellent new book, and a giveaway, too!

    Like

  23. creativespiritarts April 9, 2014 at 8:38 am #

    Hand stitching book looks awesome!

    Like

  24. creativespiritarts April 9, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

    This book looks really interesting. Would love to be the recipient.

    Like

  25. Michelle Hill April 10, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    How exciting it would be to take a class with Ruth! I am still so very new to embroidery but I have many fond memories of my Nana and Mom stitching away.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 10, 2014 at 9:22 am #

      I love the freedom that Ruth gives you to do what you want and be happy with the results. Good Luck Michelle.

      Like

  26. Alison Swerdloff April 10, 2014 at 7:17 am #

    This looks like an incredible book! Would love to be part o the drawing!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 10, 2014 at 9:23 am #

      Good luck Alison. This is a really nicely done stitching book.

      Like

  27. Kristina April 10, 2014 at 7:32 am #

    The last time I did hand-stitching was when I was a kid in the ’80’s, trying to learn embroidery and cross-stitch. What a wonderful update she’s done, and how I would love to learn all over again!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 10, 2014 at 9:24 am #

      There is just so much you can do with stitching, beyond our basic embroidery patterns that we all learned. Good luck!

      Like

  28. Gina Newhouse April 12, 2014 at 1:26 pm #

    I’m a long time contemporary quilter. I now love art quilts and would love to learn new stitiches to add to my quilt designs. The book looks very informative and creative.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 12, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

      It is a great book, and Ruth knows so much about stitching that you can’t help but learn something new. Good luck!

      Like

  29. Deb Prewitt April 13, 2014 at 6:26 pm #

    Thanks to everyone who left comments and also shared on other social networking sites. Using random.org to select the winner, I am happy to announce that the winner is Lynn Kunz. Woo hoo! Lynn I will send you an email and you have 48 hrs to respond with your mailing address!

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
