Week 13 of the 365 day challenge

1 Apr

Week 13 (lucky 13!) of the 365 day challenge. I seem to have a good rhythm going with creating the daily inchies & twinchies & tweenchies. I haven’t missed a day yet.  Woo Hoo!!!!

The weekly sketches seem harder to complete for me. I didn’t actually do a sketch again this week. However, I did work on some Mandalas and I’m going to count those as my weekly sketch. We did Mandalas as a project for our Tuesday Tarts art group last month. We learned about making the Mandalas and created a couple during the group meeting. One exercise we did was quite fun to do. We each started with a basic Mandala shape and then added a row of pattern or design or whatever. Then we passed our Mandala to the right and the next person added a row of something. And so on and so on. We had 12 people in the group and we all contributed something to every single Mandala. I was concerned that they might all look sort of alike at the end of the exercise, but I was quite surprised at how diverse the Mandalas were. We each ended up with a special Mandala that everyone had a hand in creating for us. I took mine and colored it in with gel pens and markers.

group mandala

group mandala

I also did 2 other Mandalas that I colored in with gel pens. I enjoyed the whole process. It was fun to create the Mandalas but it was even more fun to color them in. Perhaps next week I will get back to doing my sketches again.

Now I am on to Week 14.  My how the time flies!  How are you all doing on your challenge? Please share your stories.  I love to hear everyone’s different stories about their creative journey. Follow the daily posts on Instagram and  Facebook too.  #bts365days

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

719-266-1866

4 Responses to “Week 13 of the 365 day challenge”

  1. Sonja Milojevic April 2, 2014 at 1:51 am #

    It’s going to be wonderful to see all your inchies and twinchies at the end of the year. So many small works of art turned into memories. 🙂
    Thank you for the gorgeous ATCs Deb, I love them all!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 2, 2014 at 7:41 am #

      Glad the ATCs arrived OK. And thanks about the inchies. I think they will be pretty cool all mounted and framed. I’m looking at my options to do it nicely.

      Like

  2. Lynnita Knoch April 2, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

    As always, your inchies and twinchies are wonderful. I think my favorite is the tweenchie – there’s just something about eyes! I love the bold, bright colors of your mandalas. I’m fascinated by them – how different cultures use them, where they occur in nature, etc.

    I worked more on my dragons! (http://lynnitaknoch.blogspot.com/2014/04/week-13-of-365-days-of-art-challenge.html).

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 2, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

      I agree that the Mandalas are interesting to study and learn about.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
