Book Club

8 Jan

We are starting up Book Club again. It has been a while since we did Book Cub and I really wanted to start it up again.  It is so rewarding to discuss art and creativity with other creative people. We learn so much from each other.

We will be meeting at the store to discuss the book in person, but I know not everyone will be able to attend so I will also be posting a recap here on the blog. I encourage you to join in the discussion here if you can’t be part of the book club in person.

Art & Fear

Art & Fear

The first book we will be discussing is “Art & Fear” by David Bayles & Ted Orland.  Observations on the perils and rewards of Artmaking. An artist’s survival guide. What is your art really about? Where is it going? What stands in the way of getting it there? I’m really looking forward to this! Please be sure to read the book and come prepared to join the discussion. Or join the commentary here on the blog. 🙂

We will be meeting the 4th Friday of every month at 1pm (first meeting is Jan 24th) and I will do the post here on the blog shortly after we meet up, sharing insights and comments and ideas.

I’d like to do one book per month, however some books may require a longer amount of time to really properly discuss them. And some books have ‘assignments’ to do along the way, so that takes more time too.  We’ll play it by ear.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

Sign up for the newsletter here.

7 Responses to “Book Club”

  1. Lishamarieh January 8, 2014 at 4:52 pm #

    I had to read this book for human figure class I took I college. The book really is interesting looking forward to others view point.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 9, 2014 at 7:50 am #

      Great. I think it will generate some good discussion.

      Like

  2. Beth P January 9, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

    I just moved over to WordPress with my blog and added your blog to my follow list. I have never been a part of a book group. Living in New England I will have to participate through the blog format but this first book sounds pretty darn interesting so count me in!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 9, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

      Great. I look forward to having you join the discussion. 🙂 and thanks for the follow!

      Like

      • Beth P January 9, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

        Just picked up the Kindle edition so I’m off to read! 😀 Thank you for following me back! 😀

        Like

  3. Lynnita January 9, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

    This books sounds interesting. I would like to join the online discussion (hard to be there in person from AZ). I’m not sure if I’ll be able to be “here” every 4th Friday, but will do my best.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
