Welcome to 2014

30 Dec

The past few years I have not done New Year’s Resolutions, but rather I have chosen instead to do a Year in Review to get ready for the upcoming year.

Sometimes we get so wrapped up in our own lives that we fail to notice the good stuff! We have a tendency to look at those things we didn’t do, rather than those things that we did do. And I don’t know about you, but when I start thinking about what I didn’t get finished, I start to feel bad about myself. And that is NOT how I want to live. I want to live in gratitude and appreciation, not in worry and lack.

So a few years ago I started listing the stuff I did get done. And you know what – I usually get a lot of stuff done! I’ll bet you get a lot done too. And doesn’t it feel a whole lot better to pay attention to what you did accomplish than what you didn’t? 🙂 My friend Cass Mullane is writing a book about all the Cool Stuff we do and how to be grateful for it all. I can’t wait for the book to be finished because I know it is going to be amazing!

So I now make a list of things that I accomplished during the year, and I take the time to reflect and remember those special things. And feel grateful and happy that I was able to do what I did do. And I note little things as well as big things (having a lunch date with a friend is just as important to remember as starting a new business). Everything matters!

This doesn’t mean I don’t make plans for the upcoming year. However, making plans and making resolutions are not the same thing. Making plans is about moving forward and growth and challenges. Resolutions are more likely to be about things that are wrong or lacking or not up to our standards. Making plans = good. Making resolutions = not so good.

I have a long list of good things for 2013 – but the biggest for me was opening the storefront! It was in the works for several years, but I finally realized this dream and am quite excited about it. And I am ready for 2014!

What did you accomplish this year? What did you complete? What made you happy? What made you feel good? Take the time to remember those things. And if you care to share anything, please comment below.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

Sign up for our newsletter here.

4 Responses to “Welcome to 2014”

  1. Sonja Milojevic December 31, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    You are right, we should think about all the good stuff we did over the year. I am happy with how many pieces (woven, paper, and other) I created this year, I learned new things, and most of all I am grateful for having a wonderful time and a wonderful life with my husband.
    I wish you a happy and successful New Year! xo!

    Like

  2. Soul Wise Living (@laurapclark) January 3, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

    I am so proud of all that you accomplished this last year!! Yes, you should go back and revel in all that you did for that is just the beginning of what is ahead for you!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 3, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

      Thanks Laura. It was a tremendously full year for me. I look forward to 2014 and all that it will bring me. 🙂

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
