365 Days of Art Challenge

26 Dec

Are you ready to commit to the 365 Days of Art challenge? I know it is a bit scary and perhaps overwhelming to think about. But I also know that if we don’t challenge ourselves and get out of our comfort zone, then we won’t grow and we won’t change.

I’ve thought about what I could do for the challenge. At first I thought I should do ATCs or Zentangleยฎ, but the more I thought about it the more I realized that I already do those things fairly regularly. What I need is something new or something that I don’t often do or something that I’d like to improve on.

I decided I’d like to do some Inchies and Twinchies. You know how ATCs are mini works of art (2.5″x3.5″), well Inchies and Twinchies are even tinier. Inchies are 1″x1″ square and Twinchies are 2″x2″ square. Very little bits of art. Teeny tiny itsy bitsy pieces. So small!

It seems like they would be easy to do because they don’t take much time or supplies, but they are quite challenging just because they are so tiny. It is hard to get much on a 1″ square. The 2″ squares seem really large compared to them. ๐Ÿ™‚

Inchies from a swap I did before.

Inchies from a swap I did before.

So my goal is to create one Inchie every day. I think I will mix it up and make a Twinchie every now and then too. Just for fun. At the end of the year I can display all these little bits inside a large frame and have an entire year of art at my fingertips. I think it will be fun and will give me a little bit of creative purpose every single day. One of the ideas I think will also make it challenging is to only use stuff I already have in my studio. No new stuff. If at all possible. We’ll see how that goes – that may be the more challenging part of the challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚

Some inchies & twinchies I am working on for another group swap.

Some inchies & twinchies I am working on for another group swap.

However, I also thought that working in such a tiny bit of space is perhaps not going to improve my art skills much. One of the ideas behind doing the 365 day challenge is to find an area of art that you focus on and can observe your improvement over the course of the year. I am not sure that working on a tiny 1″ square is going to be easily documented showing improvement. So I decided that I needed a secondary challenge that I do once a week.

I thought about doing a painting every week. I painted a lot when I was much younger and really enjoyed it. It is a skill that has fallen by the wayside on my artistic journey. I’d like to revive it. But painting requires quite a bit of time. And a specific space to do it in. Which might be hard for me some weeks.

Or perhaps a Prayer Flag every week? I love those and there is such opportunity to be creative with them that I wouldn’t get bored with them. And imagine 52 prayer flags hanging around my studio or the store? That would be fun.

Or work on my calligraphy skills (which have definitely fallen by the wayside) and create a quote every week on beautiful paper. And then they could be bound into a book at the end of the year. That sounds really nice too.

Or perhaps I’ll do a sketch or drawing every week. I like the idea that it is more portable for me. I can grab my sketchbook and pencils/pens and take them with me wherever I go (not so easy to do with a canvas and paints and brushes or with a sewing machine or calligraphy pens & inks). And I know my drawing skills can be improved upon, so this would be a great weekly challenge for me to do and one that I could actually fit into my schedule. Plus I am inspired by my son, who is always drawing and is very good at it because he does it all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s settled then. Once a week I will do a drawing or sketch and will end up with 52 different drawings over the year. Ideally I will see marked improvement from week 1 to week 52. I even have a nice new sketchbook that I can use for this journey.

I’ll document both challenges here on the blog so you can follow along with my progress. I hope you will be joining me on the journey and sharing your progress as well. Doing something like this together is so much more fun and rewarding than doing it alone.

We’ll start Jan 1st as that is easy to remember and easy to follow the days and the weeks. Of course if you want to start now, you certainly can get a jump start on it. I will be starting on Jan 1, 2014 so I can easily track and document the journey and share it with you.

I’m very excited about this adventure and look forward to sharing it with you.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

29 Responses to “365 Days of Art Challenge”

  1. robin December 26, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    Thank you for all the great ideas for the 365 Days of Art Challenge. I am not sure what I am going to do yet, but I am up for the challenge. It will be nice to have a virtual support group.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2013 at 7:49 am #

      Fabulous Robin. I look forward to seeing what you will be creating. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Jenny Williams December 26, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    I’d like to do this, as well. I like the twinchie idea better thank inchies, but will try to do some of both. I also need to hone my drawing/sketching skills, so I’ll commit to that, too. What I’d like to do is get back to my blog – which has been sorely abandoned for some time now. This would give me something to blog about and to show photos on a weekly basis. I know I wouldn’t post daily, but could show a week’s worth of twinchie/inchies… thanks for the challenge! I’ll put it on my calendar right now!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Excellent Jenny. I like the idea of you being able to use it on your own blog. It is a perfect opportunity to share what you are doing and get back into the habit of writing regularly. Feel free to link back to my blog posts about the challenge too. I will only be posting the challenge results once a week too.

      Like

  3. Diane December 26, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    This challenge sounds fun, inspiring and will provide opportunity for growth. Don’t know if I’m up for the daily challenge since I have my hands stirring quite a few pots right now, but I’d certainly like to attempt the weekly challenge. Do the weekly projects have to be in the same category, Deb, or can I choose what I feel inspired to do each week? Once my daughter and I take your beginner Zentangle class, perhaps I can use what I learn in the class and track my improvement since this will be a new venture for me??? I’m always so ready to do something, but always overbook myself. This new year of 2014 will be a turning point for me as I am going to try very, very hard to bring to a conclusion all that I start. I think my problem is that there is just so much I want to learn and do.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2013 at 10:35 am #

      Hi Diane. I’m so glad you are joining the fun too. Of course you can do anything you want. I put some ideas out there for inspiration, but I don’t expect everyone to do the same thing as me. I know exactly what you mean about over-booking as I do that frequently, but apparently I work best under the pressure. ๐Ÿ™‚ Zentangle would be a perfect idea for a daily or weekly project for the challenge. I look forward to seeing what you decide.

      Like

  4. Bonnie December 26, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Hmmm. Food for thought indeed. Maybe I can commit to the weekly one but a daily one might leave me stranded. I might even start a weekly blog…if my grandson will help me set it up! Thanks for the idea jenny…

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      That would be wonderful. Yes, the daily committment is really challenging to do. The weekly project is much more doable for most people. And a new blog would be excellent for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Sonja Milojevic December 27, 2013 at 2:31 am #

    Thanks for the wonderful ideas Deb! I am also inspired to do inchies and twinchies. I’ve done them before and they are great fun indeed! Maybe I will join the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 27, 2013 at 8:16 am #

      Yes you should do it with us. It will be a lot of fun.

      Like

  6. Jen web December 27, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    How exciting. I went to kinkos and had them cut twinchies for the entire year. They were not able to do inchies. I can cut those myself. I am also going to do the weekly quotes, then bind them in a book. Would make a great gift. What a wonderful way to start the year.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 28, 2013 at 8:13 am #

      How wonderful that you are joining us. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone does with this challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. blackflowercreative December 30, 2013 at 4:56 am #

    This is such a brilliant idea. Thank you for sharing. Count me in. I haven’t much time to decide quite what I want to improve …. there are so many. Exciting!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 30, 2013 at 8:32 am #

      Excellent. I’m looking forward to this 365 day project. And so many people joining the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. aprilfool47 December 31, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    Since I tend to jump from one craft to another, I will mix it up each week. I like tangling on rocks too and leaving them for people to find and keep as part of my Random Acts of Art Group. Haven’t done much lately and this will push me to continue. Thank you for your wonderful ideas & count me in.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 1, 2014 at 9:58 am #

      What a great way to use the art you create. Glad you are joining in on the fun.

      Like

      • aprilfool47 January 1, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

        Thank you. Just finished my first attempt at a 2″ x 2″ tangle on paper. Wow, what a small area to work on after doing ATC’s. It will be fun to try it centered on smaller rocks. Love the challenge and my calendar’s marked for every Wednesday ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • Deb Prewitt January 1, 2014 at 1:40 pm #

          2×2 is very small, but seems quite large after you work on a 1×1 size. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

          • aprilfool47 January 1, 2014 at 3:30 pm #

            Maybe I’ll try an Inchie just for fun ๐Ÿ™‚

            Like

          • Jen web January 2, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

            I started on Dec 27th. I really wanted to commit to this resolution. So far so good:)

            Like

          • Deb Prewitt January 2, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

            woo hoo!

            Like

  9. Dorothy Pang, The Natural Fertility Expert January 6, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

    What a lovely idea! I love these mini pieces of art.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 6, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks Dorothy! I hope all is well with you. I miss you!

      Like

  10. Melanie McNeil December 9, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    Will you be doing this in 2015? I’m interested in joining in. I’d have to consider how that would work for me, as I am a quilter. Thanks.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 10, 2014 at 7:43 am #

      I am going to be doing something for the 365 days of art challenge. Haven’t decided yet what that will be, but it is always good to have more people participating and supporting each other. s a quilter, depending on your time available, you could do one block a day, or even one block a week which would still give you a lot of finished blocks at the end of the year.

      Like

      • Melanie McNeil December 10, 2014 at 8:40 am #

        I’m less of a block quilter all the time. However, there are a lot of things I want to try that are a little out of my comfort zone. So I think I could meet a challenge a week. Thanks.

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Night Visions (Day 28) | The TerZa Factor - December 27, 2013

    […] fabric. This photo journey that I’ve been on was inspired by Deb Prewitt’s blog – https://bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com/2013/12/26/365-days-of-art-challenge/ Come join […]

    Like

  2. I've decided to resume 365sketches in 2014 | LeMasney Consulting - December 27, 2013

    […] 365 Days of Art Challenge […]

    Like

  3. BTS – 365 Days of Art | Blue Twig Studio - January 1, 2014

    […] 1, 2014 and Day 1 of the BTS 365 Days of Art Challenge. Woo hoo! Are we all ready for this jump-start to our art and creativity? This is going to be a lot […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
