What is my Word of the Year?

21 Dec

I recently wrote about choosing a word of the year to focus on and embrace as part of my life. It has been interesting to me how the word finds it’s way into my everyday life and how it actually does work. Because I know it works, it is important to find the right word for the year.

I usually make some lists of various words I am considering, maybe doing some free-writing about it to see where it leads. I pay attention to words I am hearing and reading and noticing to see if anything seems to jump out at me. I reflect on the past year and wonder about the upcoming year. What do I want from 2014?

I try not to focus on one aspect of my life more than others, as I find that the words I have chosen in the past have somehow enveloped all parts of my life. So I am not thinking specifically about business or art or family or self……..but rather I am thinking about my life as a whole.

I have a great list of words that will work. There aren’t really any bad words. Which one do I choose? After a couple of weeks of thinking about it and talking with friends about it, the word I am choosing for 2014 is JOY!

JOY

JOY

I want to enjoy my work and my art. I want to find joy in everyday life. I want to be joyous with my friends and family. I know 2014 will be enjoyable! I look forward to seeing how JOY presents itself over the coming year.

JOY

JOY

Did you decide on your word of the year? Share it below. Perhaps your word will inspire somebody else.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

Sign up for our newsletter here.

20 Responses to “What is my Word of the Year?”

  1. Lishamarie December 21, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    My word is challenge

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 21, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

      challenge is a great word – lots of possibilities

      Like

  2. pammie~k December 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    My one little word in 2013 has been JOY. And I found JOY everywhere – the word and the emotion. It has been a fabulous word for me this year. I am still praying on what my word will be for 2014.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 22, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      I’m glad that JOY was a good word for you. I’m looking forward to embracing it this year. You still have another week to figure out your word for 2014. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic December 22, 2013 at 2:04 am #

    That is a great word! I’m still not sure about mine. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 22, 2013 at 8:35 am #

      It is difficult to select one word sometimes. Believe me I had a long list of word choices. I eventually whittled it down to just a few and then down to just one.

      Like

  4. Sue Olsen December 22, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    Most of 2013 was uneventful,ordinary and routine. But as we close out this year I am faced with some situations that have me reeling. My Mom is in the hospital facing a terminal condition. Other family members are presenting me with some challenging situations. My word for 2014 is SURRENDER. I must surrender these situations to the Lord because I can do nothing to change them. And truth be known most of life offers us situations that we can’t change. But I can surrender these things to God and know that His plans are perfect and timely.
    Peace-n-luv, for the New Year.
    Sue O.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 22, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      So sorry you are going thru this difficult time Sue. I think you have chosen the perfect word for you for the New Year. Much love and hugs to you.

      Like

  5. terzae December 23, 2013 at 6:04 am #

    I love your word, Deb! May 2014 be that for you.
    My word is COLOR. It’s a whole other language for me.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 23, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Color is a great choice for you Terza. I see lots of color in your 2014!

      Like

  6. Patty Mendys December 24, 2013 at 5:57 am #

    I love your word for the year. It is mine too!

    Like

    • Soul Wise Living (@laurapclark) December 24, 2013 at 7:06 am #

      That is a great year ~ my process is a little more involved than your’s and I do it around New Year’s. I look to my blessings bowl from the previous year, create a medicine wheel meditation that aligns with where I am and look at my New Vision Seed Board, from there the word magically appears! I can’t wait for it to reveal itself!

      I love JOY and your art is just that! JOY!

      Like

      • Deb Prewitt December 24, 2013 at 8:06 am #

        That sounds like a wonderful ritual. I do a reflection on the prior year as well (a blog post about that will be coming this week) and take time to be grateful for everything that I experienced during the year. The Medicine Wheel meditation sounds quite intriguing.

        Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 24, 2013 at 8:04 am #

      Yay. We will be full of joy together. 🙂

      Like

  7. Tricia December 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    receive 🙂 this week I have had many opportunities to practice before the new year

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      I like that word a lot. Sounds perfect for you. 🙂

      Like

  8. Cena Block from SaneSpaces.com December 30, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    Is it fair to focus on the same word as I did last year? Effortlessness? I also like Receive. Problem is – I like TONS of words… How do you choose?

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 30, 2013 at 10:16 am #

      Of course you can use the same word as last year Cena. We don’t have any word police running around here. 🙂 I always have a lot of words I think would be great to use. One year I had two words, but it really works better for me if I have only one main word. You could also have different words for different parts of your life. Whatever works for you.

      Like

  9. Lou McCulloch December 19, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    My word is ‘BREATH’ for many obvious reasons and not so obvious.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 19, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Breath is a beautiful word. Thanks for sharing with us.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
