Gelli Plate Art

12 Dec

I love making Gelli Plate prints. I love being able to add layers and layers and layers using the Gelli Plate and using stencils and stamps. I use it on fabric and watercolor paper and kraft paper and old map pages, etc. Deli paper is a particular favorite. It holds the painted layers well and then is super easy to tear apart and use the bits.

I wanted to make some simple canvas art. So I started with some of my gelli printed papers. I have a whole stack of them and I can go through them and find the ones that appeal to me at the moment and use them. I like having a stack of them ready to go for different projects.

gelli plate papers

gelli plate papers

I grabbed a couple pages that I liked and started tearing them into strips and bits. Sometimes the tearing process is the most fun. 🙂

P1020924

Then I used gel medium and started adhering the bits and pieces to my canvas. Very easy to do.

P1020925

 

Then after the canvas was dry I went in to the edges and nooks and crannies where I could see the white canvas and used Inka Gold to color in. Next time I will probably start with a painted canvas so I don’t have that bit of white showing through. However, the Inka Gold is a lot of fun and easy to use and since it has a bit of shimmer to it, it adds just a little something extra to the collage.

P1020929 P1020928

Now what to do? Do I add more collage elements? Stencils or stamps? Embellishments? I knew I wanted some words (of course – don’t I always?) but wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted. Did I want to use random word poetry? Or a quote? Or just one word? In the end I went with the one word. I used my Stamper’s Big Brush Pen in black to color the words using some letter stencils I had.

P1020932 P1020933

I liked it. Simple but beautiful. I added another layer of gel medium over the whole thing and called it complete.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

719-266-1866

2 Responses to “Gelli Plate Art”

  1. Sonja Milojevic December 13, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Great job Deb! And a great inspiration!

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
