Snow Day! Let’s Play!

5 Dec

We had a snow day today.  So I had a play day. And it was wonderful!

I have worked from home for a very long time. Blue Twig Studio has been an on-line store for a couple of years before I opened the storefront, so I was working at home. My business before that also was a work-from-home business. Although I was out on appointments regularly, I could stay in the house and work if I needed to. It has been great when the weather is bad. I can still work and get a lot of business accomplished even if I don’t leave the house.

But now that I have the storefront, I need to go to work every day. Even when the weather is cold and icky. But yesterday and today, the city has pretty much closed down. Schools closed, events cancelled, businesses closing early. So I closed early yesterday, and didn’t go in today.

I did debate whether I should close or not, but in the end I realized that I didn’t want to be on dangerous roads and I didn’t expect that most of my customers would be out and about either. I know I am not one of those critical businesses that have to be open no matter what – although there could have been an art emergency. Right?

Anyway, I had a Free Day. Should I clean house (which really needs it) or work on paperwork (which always needs done) or play in the studio (which I never get enough of) or something else? There is always something that needs done, but there isn’t always an extra free day to do it.

In the end I decided to go to the studio and play. No class preparation, no assignments, no challenges. Just playing with no agenda at all. Aaahhhh. How nice! There was a slight amount of guilt to start with, but that went away pretty quickly.

And it was so much fun. Even if half of my art stuff is at the shop now (for classes and such). I just grabbed some stuff and started playing – working with paint and spray and gel medium and gelli plate prints. Fun fun stuff. I did keep reaching for something that was not here (for example: all my stencils are at the shop – I better bring some of them home I guess) but managed to still get a lot done with what I did have on hand.

Of course, my camera is at the shop too, so I don’t have any photos of my play time. But believe me, it was a good day. I feel so much better after spending most of the day in the studio. My hands are covered in paint, which makes me happy. It is amazing what a good play day can do for you. I hope you are able to spend some time in your studio playing too!

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

10 Responses to “Snow Day! Let’s Play!”

  1. Sue Olsen December 5, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Deb, I am so glad to hear that you were able to regenerate your spirit and refresh your soul. Art is such an important part of life and when it’s denied we feel edgy, disjointed, and just down right yucky!! At least I do. I could feel a sign of relief in your written words. It certainly was a gift and how great that you had the chance to enjoy it!!
    peace,
    Sue O.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 6, 2013 at 8:10 am #

      Thanks Sue. I get little bits of time here and there to play, but never an entire day. That just makes all the difference in the world.

      Like

  2. Cass Mullane December 5, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    Woo Hoo!!! Happy Dance!

    Like

  3. terzae December 6, 2013 at 1:36 am #

    So cool you were able to play, Deb! What a wonderful way to rejuvenate, getting your hands covered in paint.

    Like

  4. Sonja Milojevic December 6, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    I agree with Sue. You really needed that time just for your self and your art. It feels great to play, not thinking if it needs to be a finished piece or just splashing paint and having fun. 🙂 I’m happy for you. xoxo!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 6, 2013 at 8:12 am #

      That freedom of not creating for a deadline or project, but just creating and playing for it’s own sake – very sweet.

      Like

  5. Charmaine Boggs December 6, 2013 at 3:21 am #

    I’m sitting in front of the television now, hoping for those words that warm a teacher’s heart…snow day! If I get my wish, I will be spending the day in my home studio instead of my art classroom at school. Like you, Deb, I may work in a creative field, but it often leaves way too little time for my own art.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 6, 2013 at 8:13 am #

      perhaps we all need to take a ‘snow day’ now and then to rejuvenate our soul. Hope you get yours today.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
