Word of the Year

3 Dec

For the past few years I have been choosing a word of the year to start each year. A lot of people do this. It is a way to bring focus and recognition to something you want to have more of, or include, or improve, or…..you get the idea.

By choosing a word of the year, you are directing your thoughts and your actions to embrace that word and have it become a part of your life. It is amazing to me how much power such an exercise can have. So it is important to choose your word wisely.

At the end of the year I like to look back at prior years to see the words I have chosen and to notice how I incorporated those words into my life and whether or not I was able to create some positive change around the chosen word.

These are my past words:

  • focus
  • play
  • seek
  • explore

What will my word for 2014 be? I’ll let you know as soon as I decide. What will your word be?

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

13 Responses to “Word of the Year”

  1. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest December 3, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    It IS time to think on a word again…
    where did 2013 go!!!

    This year my word was ‘Stretch’

    Wanted to send greetings from Virginia (we returned after a fabulous time in CO last night)…

    I was lucky enough to visit your shop a couple of Sundays ago with my son and husband…
    can’t wait to dig into my bag of goodies that I brought home from your Blue Twig Studio 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your talent and passion.

    Your shop is special!
    oxo

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 3, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Thanks Patty. It was nice to meet you when you were here.

      Stretch is a good word.

      I love seeing what everyone comes up with and how they apply it to their life.

      Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic December 4, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    I have no idea. 🙂 Hmmm…let me think. 🙂

    Like

  3. terzae December 4, 2013 at 3:45 am #

    This year my word is Play. I’ll have to ponder what it will be for 2014. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 4, 2013 at 7:53 am #

      And you really embraced PLAY this year. I can’t wait to see what the next word will be.

      Like

  4. Dorothy Pang December 9, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    I love that you choose a word of the year! I choose peace, systematize, and nurture.

    Like

  5. Kelley Grimes December 9, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Deb I love this practice and have done this with my family for years right before the New Year. My words this year were delight and responsibility, which were all about the joy of living more fully into my purpose. I look forward to seeing what the words will be for 2014 to guide and ground my journey!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 9, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      How wonderful to do it with your family. I’m working through some words right now, trying to find the one that is the right fit for me for 2014.

      Like

  6. Tricia December 9, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    What a great idea! I looooove words…and to pick just one? Hmmmm, that will get me thinking for sure. I know this word is kinda trendy right now, but seriously…if I could master one thing it would be to receive. My word is “receive.” Thank you!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 9, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Receive is a great word. It doesn’t really matter if it is trendy anyway. The word will work for you as you need it to.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is my Word of the Year? | Blue Twig Studio - December 21, 2013

    […] recently wrote about choosing a word of the year to focus on and embrace as part of my life. It has been interesting to me how the word finds […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
