Monthly ATC Challenge – Wings

1 Dec

P1020877 

Welcome to a new monthly ATC challenge.  The December theme is WINGS !  Wings are interesting to me. Whether you are talking about butterfly wings, fairy wings, bird wings, angel wings, or chicken wings (ha ha) an image is instantly created in your mind. Wings are vital to the movement of many creatures. But wings are more than that. To me, wings imply freedom and grace and joy and beauty. I often have those ‘flying’ dreams and the exhileration of flying above the earth is so amazing to me. When you take those silly quizzes and they ask what kind of superpower you want – I almost always say the ability to fly!  Although I do have to say I have never wanted to go sky-diving – I wonder what that means? That I don’t really want to fly? Or that I just don’t want to jump out of a plane? Hmmmm……

P1020878

I see lots of potential for the WINGS theme this month. Will you create something more traditional? Or perhaps more whimsical? Or just plain silly? Or something outside the proverbial box? Oh, I can hardly wait!

The November theme was TREES and there are some really great entries for it.  I will be sharing all of the entries in a few days.  If you didn’t get yours turned in yet, there is still a day or two to get them to me.  Then I will be selecting the winners!!! We definitely have enough entries for more than one winner this month.

ATC stands for Artist Trading Card. A little bitty piece of art created by you. Here are the rules guidelines for the challenge.

  • your ATC needs to be 2.5″ x 3.5″
  • you can use any medium you like (paper, fabric, metal, clay, etc)
  • you can use any technique you like (a great way to try something new)
  • art work is on the front
  • your personal info is on the back (name, location, contact info, date, title)
  • all skill levels welcome
  • this is a WTA – winner take all – so one person will ‘win’ all of the ATCs submitted (if we get more than 20 entries, there will be 2 winners – if we get more than 30 entries, there will be 3 winners, and so on)
  • submit one ATC (you get one chance to win with each ATC submitted – if you submit more than one you get extra chances – but make them different since one person will win all of them :))
  • you can’t win if you don’t enter 🙂
  • deadline is Dec 31st – you can drop it off if you are local or mail it to the address below

I’d like it if you could include your city, state and country on the back side of your ATC. We have several Int’l participants as well as people from all over the USA, and I know they would love it if they knew where you were from. We don’t all know each other personally, so the info you provide is greatly appreciated. Another idea is to include your email or blog address as well. It’s not necessary, but nice for the winner to have in case they would like to contact you.

I hope you will join the fun of the monthly ATC challenge. It is a great opportunity to try something  new and play with  mixed media techniques. You only need to make one little itty bitty ATC, so it is really easy to complete. Get your friends to join the fun too. The more the merrier. And the challenge is open to All Skill Levels and all ages. We have had some great kids entries in past months.  Don’t be afraid to enter even if you haven’t ever made an ATC before. You have to start somewhere!

P1020879

So the December theme is WINGS  and I know there will be a lot of great entries for this theme, as usual. I already have some good ideas percolating.

For those of you who like to plan ahead, the January theme is MAPS!  Have fun!

~Deb~

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N. Academy Blvd.  – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

719-266-1866

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Sign up for the Blue Twig Studio weekly newsletter here.

12 Responses to “Monthly ATC Challenge – Wings”

  1. Sonja Milojevic December 2, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    I really really love your themes! Can’t wait to start making the ATCs!

    Like

  2. Carol Hodges December 2, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    So, can I join this challenge? I liv in South Florida so I would just mail them to the address here in CO? Love the idea of sharing art.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 2, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      Absolutely you can join. I have people participate from all over the world. Just mail your entry to the Blue Twig Studio address. Be sure your return address is on the envie in case you win. 🙂

      Like

  3. quiltndog@q.com December 2, 2013 at 7:28 am #

    Good morning, I am mailing my November ATC’s this morning, as well as my December.  I have 4 Novem ber ones, so I hope you don’t draw until mine get there. I have really enjoyed this.  Thanks

    Kaye Evans

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 2, 2013 at 8:47 am #

      Hi Kaye. I’ll be on the lookout for your entries and wait to post the Nov winner until I get them. Thanks so much.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Love Trees! | Blue Twig Studio - December 7, 2013

    […] And the winners are………….Kaye Evans – Asha Watson – Sue Olsen.  Congrats and I will be sending you the TREE ATCs for your collection. Thanks to everyone who participated and I look forward to seeing your entries for the December ATC challenge (the theme is WINGS). […]

    Like

  2. Wings ATCs | Blue Twig Studio - December 15, 2013

    […] is still plenty of time to turn in your Wings ATCs for the December ATC challenge. The deadline is Dec 31st. The ATCs submitted so far are wonderful (of course – aren’t […]

    Like

  3. January ATC Challenge – MAPS | Blue Twig Studio - January 1, 2014

    […] December theme was WINGS and I will be posting the winners in a few days. As always, they are all incredibly creative and […]

    Like

  4. Wings ATCs are beautiful! | Blue Twig Studio - January 6, 2014

    […] WINGS ATCs for the December challenge are all so beautiful and inspiring. Have I mentioned what a joy it is to receive these little bits […]

    Like

  5. February ATC Challenge – FISH | Blue Twig Studio - February 1, 2014

    […] Monthly ATC Challenge – Wings (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  6. March ATC Challenge – HOUSES | Blue Twig Studio - March 1, 2014

    […] Monthly ATC Challenge – Wings (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  7. April ATC Challenge – Steampunk | Blue Twig Studio - April 1, 2014

    […] Monthly ATC Challenge – Wings (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
