365 days of ART

27 Nov

I’ve been inspired by watching other artists and creatives do the 365 days of ART kind of challenge the past few years. I’ve seen some fabulous work done and enjoyed watching the progress that happens. I’ve seen artists dedicate the time and energy and work necessary to complete this kind of task. And all I can say is WOW!

iHanna’s Blog talks about her 365 journey and she gives some really great pointers to help you plan for it. I know there are more blogs that talk about it, but hers was just the most recent one I ran across.

There are several ways of doing this. First you have to decide what kind of art you really want to do. ย You can commit to doing your art every single day. I don’t know about you, but that already sounds like there is too much chance of failing (at least for me :)). You can also decide to do 7 of your chosen art projects per week. This seems easier to do as you can do one a day or all 7 in one day or any combination you need to get the 7 per week. This would allow for those days that you just cannot get to the studio (lets face it – those days happen).

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Or you can choose to do a project per week , which is still a lot. 52 weeks of art. That is still quite a commitment of creating art over the course of a year. And perhaps more realistic for most of us to complete.

Either way you decide to do it, an entire year of doing one particular thing will only serve to make you better at it. Can you imagine the changes you will have in your art by committing to this practice? Because the only way to improve is to practice!!!!!

original art by Deb Prewitt, CZT

original art by Deb Prewitt, CZT

I think you can try something small and easy that you know will be doable, but still challenge your creativity. Here are a few ideas. I’m sure you can think of many more ideas of your own.

  • ATCs
  • Postcards
  • Notecards
  • Paper dolls
  • Journal pages
  • Water color
  • Miniature paintings
  • Zentangleยฎ
  • Poetry
  • Hand-stitching
  • Gelli prints
  • Sketch
  • Bake cupcakes
  • Quilt blocks
  • Photographs
  • Origami

The trick will be narrowing my choice down to only one thing to do for the entire year. I’m going to think about it for a couple weeks and decide how best to put it into action. Will you join me on this year-long adventure? Will you share what you are doing? I’ll post regularly about my progress with this challenge and I hope you will do the same.

original art by Deb Prewitt

original art by Deb Prewitt

I’m excited to share this journey with you. Hmmmmm……what shall I do?

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

iHanna’s Blog post where she gives some great ideas.

24 Responses to “365 days of ART”

  1. Maryann November 27, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    I do like the idea of one a week. Sometimes even that sounds too hard for me. I think it would be good for me to choose something and try to stay with it for an entire year. So yes, I will join you Deb.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 27, 2013 at 11:15 am #

      Yay Maryann. I think the idea of doing it together an holding each other accountable makes a big difference in following through. I look forward to hearing about your artistic journey.

      Like

  2. Bonnie November 27, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    I’ll try to remember to do it…as long as you give regular reminders I should be okay with it. Like you…what shall I do?

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 27, 2013 at 11:15 am #

      I will be posting regularly so you know I am actually doing the work. We’ll start in January so you have some time to think about what you want to do. So many choices, right?

      Like

  3. Tifney Morgan November 27, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Count me in! It will be good for me to commit so I do something more often. I’m thinking I will try sketching/doodling and Zentangle. I really want to improve my skills in this area and be able to take a sketchbook anywhere. I have a few different books on hand to use for inspiration. I will share my thoughts on them as I try the different ideas/techniques if you like? Thanks for the motivation! I think it will be fun! Btw, I forgot to let you know I changed email address. My new one is the gmail account if you want to drop the wyoming acct.

    Like

    • Tifney Morgan November 27, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

      Oh, I think once a week commitment would work best for me ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Deb Prewitt November 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

        Once a week already is a lot to do. And you can always do more if you are so inclined. Fun fun!

        Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

      Yay Tifney. This is going to be fun! Of course I want regular updates from you and everyone else that participates. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. liz kettle November 28, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    I’m in Deb! I have such a busy year ahead that I know making just for myself is likely to get shoved way down the list.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 29, 2013 at 8:26 am #

      Cool. I know you at least work on stuff pretty regularly, even if it is for other projects. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Sonja Milojevic November 29, 2013 at 2:04 am #

    I think I could do a ATC a day, or seven per week. But it still is a challenge. Great thought though. I can’t wait to see what you decide. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 29, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      I’m trying to decide what I could do for the entire year that I won’t be bored with part way thru the year. I think that is why I try my hand at so many different things, because I get bored with what I am doing.

      Like

  6. kim6erly November 29, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    I like your inchie idea, I think I will try it too.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 29, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      I think that might be what I do. Of course, I could still change my mind. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • kim6erly November 29, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

        Completely acceptable ๐Ÿ™‚ I reserve the right to change my mind as well ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  7. terzae November 30, 2013 at 3:29 am #

    One of my challenges with any project I have is in being consistent. Whatever I do is in spurts. Still, I find that if I just keep going even after missing some time in it, overall, I get better in my project and in being consistent.

    I’ll join you. I’m always taking photos, but rarely do I do anything with them. I’ll post a photo along with a paragraph (or more) in my blog. 365 days of consistency would be an achievement in itself.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 30, 2013 at 8:06 am #

      Fun idea. I tried to do the photograph a day thing a few years ago and didn’t make it through the entire year. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This time I am going to do the whole year.

      Can’t wait to see what you do with the photos.

      Like

      • terzae December 7, 2013 at 3:50 am #

        I didn’t wait until January. I won’t remember this then. I jumped in, and am now on day 8. Here’s the beginning – http://theterzafactor.wordpress.com/2013/11/30/you-decide-1/

        Like

        • Deb Prewitt December 7, 2013 at 7:59 am #

          Excellent. We don’t have to wait til Jan 1st to begin a new adventure. It just seems easier when we do it that way. Somehow the beginning of the year marks new chances and new hopes for us. But any day can be a new beginning.

          Like

  8. iHanna December 9, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    HI Deb, thanks for the mention and linking to me. It’s super fun to create like this, but also a lot of work, I wish you good luck on your new year adventure! Let me know how it goes!

    Like

  9. Lynnita December 29, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    I’m up for the challenge. I’m an art quilter, but use to paint and draw. I want to get back to that and had started working in mixed media and journaling this past year. So, I think for me, I will add to an art journal while drawing and painting. However, I also like Terzae’s idea of photographs. I’ve been learning how to fine tune my photos with various photo programs and apps. I would also like to start manipulating them to create more abstract works of art. So maybe some weeks, I will work with photos, too. Looking forward to it!! (Maybe this will help me work on my blog, too. I’ve not been very good at it since I started it.)

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 29, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      Yay Lynnita. This is going to be so much fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 365 Days of Art Challenge | Blue Twig Studio - December 26, 2013

    […] you ready to commit to the 365 Days of Art challenge? I know it is a bit scary and perhaps overwhelming to think about. But I also know that if we […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
