Easy to make ATCs

21 Nov

During Open Studios here at the store, I like to play along and have fun but I don’t want to be thinking about what I am doing too much. I might have to stop mid-stream and help customers. So I usually just get out some various products and play a bit.

For these ATCs I started with a base of MPC (multi-purpose cloth) that was already pre-cut into ATC size bits. They were left over from our Grand Opening make-n-take. I grabbed a handful and spread them out. Now what?

I had my Twinkling H20s handy, so opened them all up and spritzed them with water to activate the water colors. I really love the Twinks. They are easy to use and come in lots of yummy colors that all have a bit of sparkle them. Perfect for me!

Then I just started randomly painting colors onto the MPC. The MPC is a fabulous fun product. It takes paint easily, you can sew on it, cut it into shapes, stamp on it, fuse it, etc. It is durable and makes a great bag! But it is fabric, so the Twinks sort of bled into it, which I really liked. It was easy to add layers of color and watch them blend together with no effort on my part. I wasn’t going for a particular look, but was really just mixing colors and seeing what happened. Some of them I added an edge of color to create a bit of a frame. Not bad for no thinking involved.

Deb Prewitt

starting bases

Then I grabbed a handful of stencils (you know I have a bunch of those :)) and my Identipen. I really like the Identipen as it will write on most any surface and has two different sized tips. I just started outlining the stencils on the painted backgrounds. Not very complicated at all. And they turned out great! One of the stencils was just curved lines so I decided to write a few words on the lines, since the lines were kind of plain.

Deb Prewitt

Added stencil play

But I kind of wanted something else. So I found some crystals that were left over from last month’s Arty Party and randomly glued them onto the ATCs. The crystals I used were purple, black, and silver.

Deb Prewitt

Added crystals

 

The only ATC I didn’t add crystals to was the TREE ATC, which I didn’t think needed anything else. This TREE ATC will be included in the TREE ATC challenge for November.

Super easy and quick ATCs, and now I have some ready for our next monthly ATC group meeting in December. Woo hoo!

Have you tried your hand at creating ATCs? They are a lot of fun and a bit addictive. 🙂 The only rule is the size – 2.5″ x 3.5″. So how can you go wrong? They are just so much fun to do.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918

719-266-1866

Sign up for our newsletter here.

16 Responses to “Easy to make ATCs”

  1. Vicki Barton November 21, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    It looks like you were having a great time. It was fun visiting your shop in person and my new stencils worked out great! Thanks, Vicki Bart

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 21, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      It is always fun to just play and let the art happen. Glad your stencils worked out!

      Like

  2. juli heintz November 21, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    Great ideas & tease to get us going! Inspired now. Love the way they turned out!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 21, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      I debated publishing them, because now they won’t be a secret for the ATC group. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic November 22, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    Such vibrant colors and wonderful ATCs! I can’t wait to have more time to play and make some! 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 22, 2013 at 8:32 am #

      You always seem to find time to make art and play.

      Like

  4. James Galileo November 23, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    My favorite paRT is making all of these various backgrounds. Its so fun to play with the Dylusion sprays!

    Like

  5. Kirby March 7, 2014 at 5:33 am #

    It is truly a nice and helpful piece of information.
    I’m satisfied that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stencil Play #2 | Blue Twig Studio - November 24, 2013

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Monthly ATC Challenge – Wings | Blue Twig Studio - December 1, 2013

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. I Love Trees! | Blue Twig Studio - December 7, 2013

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  4. January ATC Challenge – MAPS | Blue Twig Studio - January 1, 2014

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  5. February ATC Challenge – FISH | Blue Twig Studio - February 1, 2014

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  6. March ATC Challenge – HOUSES | Blue Twig Studio - March 1, 2014

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  7. April ATC Challenge – Steampunk | Blue Twig Studio - April 1, 2014

    […] Easy to make ATCs (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
