Creativity Debate

29 Oct

I have been having this debate with myself lately. For quite a while actually. I love being creative and making art and working in my art journals and doing ATCs and painting and all of that fun stuff. I love experimenting and practicing with products and such. I also love my Blue Twig Studio business and working on the website and organizing classes and doing shows and finding new products. I love coming to the new store every day and talking with customers.  However I seem to have trouble really doing both.

Blue Twig Studio

Blue Twig Studio

Do you have trouble really doing a good job with two (or more) really important things in your life? I want to really commit the time and effort and focus to both areas, but seem to struggle with how to really accomplish that. I have cut out a lot of other things (housework is really overrated anyway :))  so I can devote more time to my business. After all, it is a new business that is growing and it requires a lot of time and effort to support it. And I love my business!

But I find myself wishing that I could really spend a lot more time playing and creating. Much more time than I am doing now. So what does that mean? Should I focus my time more on the artistic side for awhile?  Should I really even be considering it? Am I only feeling like I am neglecting that side of me because I have been so busy focusing on getting the storefront up and running?

I know that lots of creative people find themselves in the same boat. I sometimes start thinking of ideas that I want to do and can’t find enough time to follow through on them. I’ve tried the working in small bits of time (whatever time I can squeeze in here and there) to see if that helps, but that isn’t really good for truly creative work. At least not for me. I do know people who can take 10 minutes or 20 minutes or whatever they have and really use the time and focus on their art. Not me, I need more time to really be able to access my creative brain.

original art by Deb Prewitt

original art by Deb Prewitt

So I debate myself about how much time I really am able to devote to working in the studio and how much time I need to devote to the business side of it all. And how can I streamline it better?

Because I know that I have the same amount of time in each day as everyone else. I also know that there are ways to be more organized with my time and my energy, which is something I am constantly working on and very much aware of.  And I am always debating with myself about the amount of time I am devoting to creativity and to business (and yes I know my business is about creativity but it isn’t really the same thing as being creative).

As you know, making art is something that a lot of us HAVE to do and when I’m not able to do it, I start to struggle. I do try to do little things that will feed my artistic needs but spending large chunks of time in the studio is really the best medicine, and that time is hard to come by.

For now, I know I have to walk that thin line of balance between working on my art and working on my business, and my business is winning the debate these days. How about you? How do you find time to be creative without sacrificing time on your  business, your family, your health, etc?

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N. Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

719-266-1866

14 Responses to “Creativity Debate”

  1. Sonja MilojevicS October 29, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    I am probably not the right person to give an advice because I don’t have nine to five job. I work at home and my work is almost always a play time. But I do think that in time you will find that balance. It is still early, you just started the new business, and I guess it is normal to struggle at first, but you will find the way because you are a successful and creative woman. xoxo!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt October 30, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      I think because I have worked from home for many years that my studio was always available if I needed it. Now I go out to work, so I have noticed that I miss the studio.

      Like

  2. Ally Jencson October 29, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Oh Deb! You and I are woven from the same cloth! 🙂 I find that when I am in a creative mood I stay in that zone for HOURS. I feel you! I would highly suggest taking a good hard look at the business side of things and seeing what you can delegate. I know when we are bootstrapping businesswomen it is hard to figure out resources to pay for items delegated. Maybe you could find someone who is willing to trade some service time for an entry to one of your art classes or workshops? Let me know if I can help you in any other ways! ❤

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt October 30, 2013 at 8:16 am #

      I am working on the balance and on delegating. Right now I have one day off a week, with a lot of household stuff and errands to do on that day. And with the store just opening, I really feel like I need to be there as much as possible. I have a couple of part time people, but I think I need some time to feel like I can leave them alone more often. I guess it is like having a baby, you don’t trust anyone with the new baby for awhile. 🙂

      Like

  3. kim6erly October 29, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    I do all my creative play at night, when no one needs me. I imagine that I will change that as my son gets older, but for now I am a night owl. Doesn’t always bode well for sleep, but I make that sacrifice when I feel the need to.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt October 30, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      I usually feel too tired at night to spend much time doing art then. Although I do a little bit, and sometimes a bit in the morning before work. I will figure out the rhythm of my days soon.

      Like

  4. Sue Olsen October 29, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    Deb, this quote from Brenda Ueland was the first thing that came to mind after reading your blog. “So you see, imagination needs moodling —-long, inefficient, happy idling, dawdling and puttering.” This quote actually came from a book written by Julia Cameron called The Artists Way. It’s a wonderful book and Julia addresses the issue of blocked artists. In a way you are blocked from doing your art. Circumstances in your life are preventing you from doing what you love. I would recommend this book and also check out Jennifer Lee’s book “The Right Brain Business Plan.” BUT since you really don’t need anything added to your “to do list” I would suggest you find some way to carve out one whole day for yourself….doing something YOU WANT TO DO. Be it painting, shopping, coffee with a friend, ANYTHING. Kind-of a mini retreat. Your creative spirit needs to be refreshed. I hope you can find some “me time” I know it sounds selfish but it isn’t really….everyone needs time for themselves.
    peace,
    Sue O.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt October 30, 2013 at 8:23 am #

      Hi Sue, I have done the Artist’s Way 4 times now I think. Each time I got something new out of it. I have also done the Right-Brain Business Plan. My brain understands it all quite well. Ha Ha. I’m just feeling a bit out of sorts for missing out on more art/creative time. But I knew that would be neglected while I worked on getting the business up and running. I did plan for that. It’s just my heart feels that urge to play and make art and is feeling sad that I am working so much. I only have one day off a week right now and that isn’t enough time for everything I need to do on that one day. I expect it will all change eventually and my art time will start to find it’s way back into my routine again. It is all a learning process to figure out the best way to fit everything in. Perhaps I’m just being greedy in wanting it all right now. 🙂

      Like

  5. Peggy October 30, 2013 at 2:07 am #

    I agree with Sue. With a business needing your time and concentration, giving yourself an entire day of creativity would be good for your soul, brain and probably your business!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt October 30, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

      That would be ideal. I am going to add some creative days to my calendar to be sure they are on the schedule and I do them. 🙂

      Like

  6. Kathleen Watson November 4, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Ah, the eternal challenge: finding a dynamic equilibrium between working IN your business and working ON it. When you schedule your additional creative time, Deb, I wonder if it would help to very consciously remind yourself that, without your creativity, you wouldn’t HAVE a business. It seems to me that, for an artist, creative time is the same thing as business-development time. Maybe that viewpoint will make it easier to honor the creative hours in your schedule, rather than putting them off because you “should” do more business-y tasks. Best wishes on finding your best path!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 4, 2013 at 11:40 am #

      Thanks Kathleen. I like the idea of ‘business development’ and do that with the art stuff fairly regularly. It is the playing for the sheer fun and enjoyment that I often put off. Although I did squeeze in a little bit of play time this morning. It was very nice.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looking for Balance | Blue Twig Studio - November 25, 2013

    […] recent post about juggling work and art struck a chord with people.  A lot of people struggle with the same thing. A lot of people are […]

    Like

  2. 10 Ways to Create Free Time Out of Thin Air | List Producer | List Producer - February 12, 2015

    […] Creativity Debate […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
