One more New Store update!

28 Sep

I am now down to the last couple of days before the new storefront opens. It has been a busy few weeks getting everything ready, but very exciting too. All the little delays for this problem and that problem are mostly gone now. I was a bit impatient at times, thinking that there was no way it was all going to be finished in time. But it is all falling into place.  All of the construction work is done. All the fixtures are in place. All the products have been hauled out of the basement to the new store. Phones installed finally. Etc Etc Etc. The new sign won’t be in for a couple more weeks, so you will have to actually look for the address to find me.

Here are a few more photos of the progress/mess from this week.  We found some blue pegboard really cheap. The store said they were having a hard time selling it as nobody wants blue – so I said I would be happy to take them.  I love blue. 🙂 We also got a great deal on some used slatwall. And then we also bought some gridwall. And hauled it all from Denver to the store in Colorado Springs.

P1020756 P1020757

Then there is all the boxes of stuff from the house and some tables and shelves that were found at a garage sale. Hey, I’m not opposed to thrifting for my fixtures.

P1020758 P1020759

Oh my. A few more boxes of stuff from the house. Many thanks to all my friends who helped volunteer their time and their vehicles to help me move everything. I can’t tell you how thankful I am to have such generous friends and family.

P1020761

Then we started building shelves and painting stuff and planning the pegboard and slatwalls.

P1020762 P1020760

When we started hanging the wall stuff, we found that there were metal studs not wood studs. So that creates some construction issues, but we figured it out eventually and got everything hung up and it looks awesome!

P1020764 P1020763

Then more painting of shelves and cabinets.

P1020765 P1020767

Lastly we put up all the new black gridwall pieces. I am liking all the black we are adding to the space.

P1020766

Now on to the actual unpacking of all the inventory and deciding where everything is going to go. That is the FUN part. But I’m not sharing those photos with you yet.  You will have to come visit the store to see how it all looks. (For those of you who aren’t local I will post some photos next week for you.)

What I am finding is that I somehow managed to squeeze a LOT of inventory and the classroom tables & chairs into my small basement space. As I am putting everything out to display it, I am finding that I already have MORE than enough to fill this storefront space. So it doesn’t look bare at all, which I was sort of worrying about. Ha Ha. You will laugh when you see how full it is.

I have two more days to finish up before the opening day gets here. But I am reminding myself that I don’t have to have EVERYTHING done by Tuesday, just most of it. I can still work on some of it after we are open. I do want to have it all done right by the time we have the Grand Opening on Oct 12th.  Woo hoo! Party day!!!

You really need to stop by this week to visit the new store and see how it all looks. There are all kinds of fun mixed media products (and classes) here for your creative enjoyment.  I can’t wait to open the doors to the public!

See you soon!

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N. Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

Sign up for our newsletter here.

9 Responses to “One more New Store update!”

  1. kim6erly September 28, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    How exciting!! I look forward to seeing it, although the real shopping will have to wait until the government gets their act in order – as my husband will be furloughed until then. I may have to come just to make a shopping list!

    Like

  2. Patty Mendys September 29, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    Looks good! I love the blue, too. Wish I could celebrate with you.

    Patty in PA

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt September 29, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      You can celebrate in spirit, if not in person. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic September 30, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    That looks like a lot of work, but it’s fun and exciting at the same time. I know the store is going to look fabulous!

    Like

  4. Cass Mullane September 30, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    WOO HOO!!!!! Can’t wait to see it in all it’s finished beauty!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Look how pretty the store looks! | Blue Twig Studio - September 30, 2013

    […] One more New Store update! (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
