Blue Twig Studio store update

22 Sep

Yay. The contractor is finally done with his work, and now I can get busy with moving fixtures and inventory into the space. Along with a long list of things to do still before opening, but it is getting closer and closer. Woo hoo!

I wanted to share the photos of what has happened with the store so far.  This is what we started with. The front part of the space didn’t look too bad. The carpet was in good shape. But there was a lot of stuff left in there. Desks & chairs & a gigantic counter taking up most of the space.  Leftover signs on the walls. Signs on the windows. I decided that I would try to reuse everything that I possibly could.

P1020727 P1020728 P1020729 P1020730However the back of the space is where we really needed a lot of TLC. Lots of trash and stuff in the back. The flooring was in really rough shape. I am not sure what they were doing back here, but it was quite messy. This carpet has to go. The bath is a little rough too, but not too bad, mostly it just needs cleaned. The utility sink was very icky. And what are those lights & cords hanging down from the ceiling for?P1020731 P1020732 P1020733 P1020734 P1020735 P1020736

First things first. Start hauling away trash and debris. Then the counters from the front have to go. I decided that I would keep one end section of counter as all the electrical and phone stuff was coming up through the floor into that counter. Might as well make use of it.  But the other sections can be dismantled and moved. I think they will be good for storage shelves in the classroom (I’ll just turn them so the shelves are facing outwards). The couch that was in the office has a new home at my son’s place (he might take one of the desks too).  One of the desks and chair will go into my office area (which I really need). I think I can use the divider wall somewhere, but maybe not.  There is a nice table and comfy chairs that can go into the classroom too.

P1020737

The carpet in the back has got to go. I was hoping we could just remove the carpet and then paint the concrete. However there was a LOT of glue used on this carpet and the contractor just can’t get it all up so the concrete is bare. See all that yellow color? It is glue. So I have to decide on something else for the classroom floors.

P1020739

Now the painting begins, and replacing damaged ceiling tiles, removing the extra hanging lights, etc. It is always nice to get a new paint job. A little bit of paint can do wonders.

P1020738 P1020740 P1020741 P1020742

Now we have to add a wall and door to separate the retail side from the classroom side. It sure takes a lot of tools and stuff to do a remodel job.

P1020744

WOW. Look how nice the new floor is! We had to use a hard tile that gets installed with glue due to how much leftover glue was left on the floor. Basic linoleum just wasn’t going to go down smoothly. But I LOVE the new tile I selected. And look how it brightens up the classroom. And the new trim looks sharp. New electrical switch plates throughout look nice too. Still some missing ceiling tiles, but it is getting closer to being done!

P1020743

Now we are getting all the furniture moved to the back as I need everything out of the front retail side. This extra furniture will all get moved around where it is most useful, or it will be given away if I can’t use it. There is still some tools and equipment but it should all be gone soon.  But the front is ready to go! You can still see the imprint where the old counter was, but I think that will slowly disappear with use.

P1020748 P1020747 P1020750

The last bit to get finished was the kitchen area and utility sink. A nice bright and shiny utility sink for the classroom to use. And some cabinets so we can have a little kitchen area for employees and students to have lunch. The contractor found some used cabinets at the Re-store place for a great price (woo hoo!) and it looks great. I personally don’t care that they are mismatched pieces – in fact I really like it that way!

P1020749

So now I am ready for the next stage of this storefront process. Getting fixtures and furniture painted and into the store and then start stocking the shelves with all the good stuff you love.  I am excited to start getting some new inventory in for you.

I’m not sure when the big sign will be installed. I don’t have an ETA yet. But I am hoping it is installed by the time I have the Grand Opening. That will really make the Grand Opening special if I have the sign ready by then.

The Grand Opening Party is Oct 12th (in case you didn’t know). I will be opening the store as soon as I have everything ready, which I am still targeting the soft opening for Oct 1st, but then the BIG PARTY EVENT will be Oct 12th.  However, you are welcome to come visit as soon as the doors are open.  Please tell all your friends about the new store too. I can’t wait to have you come see the new space.

~Deb

Blue Twig Studio – 5039 N. Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

12 Responses to “Blue Twig Studio store update”

  1. ruthachandler September 22, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    Deb,

    I loved seeing it all come together! It looks so nice and clean and bright. Love the color on the wall.

    Ruth

    Ruth A. Chandler

    Co-author of the best selling book Fabric Embellishing: the Basics and Beyond

    Follow my blog Fiber and Stitch

    Join my free book study at Textile Evolution

    Like

  2. Christa September 22, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Oh Deb! I’m so excited for you! Wish I could be there to help out and come to the party but I’ll be there in spirit! So happy one of your dreams is coming true!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt September 22, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      Thanks Christa. Hopefully you will get out here to visit again soon.

      Like

  3. Maryann September 22, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    This is so exciting to watch Deb. I know it has been your dream and I am so happy for you. Good luck and I will visit asap. Hugs.

    Like

  4. Sonja Milojevic September 23, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    I love the space, and the colors are wonderful! Oh, I am so sad I can’t come and see it with my own eyes. But, it sure looks amazing in these photos. I wish you best of luck with your business. I can’t wait to see the store filled with goodies. xo!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt September 23, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      I wish you could visit too. Maybe some day. 🙂

      Like

  5. Venisa September 28, 2013 at 5:56 am #

    Love the transformation.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One more New Store update! | Blue Twig Studio - September 28, 2013

    […] Blue Twig Studio store update (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Look how pretty the store looks! | Blue Twig Studio - September 30, 2013

    […] Blue Twig Studio store update (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
