How can you share your creativity?

15 Aug

Embracing our creativity is what we all want and what we all need.  I think it is important to remember that creativity and artistic value can take many shapes and forms. For me, creativity is all about expressing myself and sharing a bit of me with you. But I also want you to find what speaks to you from my art. I don’t want to tell you what to see or notice or feel if you are looking at my art. I want you to do that for yourself.

One of the most amazing things about Art and Creativity is that everyone can experience it differently. When I look at a Van Gogh painting I am going to have a different experience than you are. When I listen to Aretha Franklin I am going to hear the words and the sounds in a different way than you. When I do my own work of creating, I will do it differently than you and will have my own unique experience. That is wonderful!

We are unique people and our creative talents are unique as well. Our connections to different types of art are also unique. It is OK that we all love different things. It is OK that our inspiration comes from a variety of sources. It is OK that we share our creativity in more than one way. We don’t all want to be painters or singers or poets. But we do all want to reach that sense of creativity that is inside all of us and we want to share it somehow.

I envision a world where everyone knows how they are creative and is able to embrace it and share it.

I had the opportunity to hear an amazing poet in person last week. Sekou Andrews uses words and rhythm in his own unique and personal way. He is able to send his messages out to the world by using poetry. He is amazing and incredibly gifted. His artistry and creativity is in language, and he has mastered his craft and is sharing it with the world. He inspires me.

I am sharing one of his You Tube videos with you. I encourage you to check him out and follow him. He has many videos out there on a variety of topics.  I wish I had a video of the presentation he just made at eWomen conference, but I don’t (he was awesome :)). This video is from a couple of years ago, but it is still powerful.  I hope you take the time to watch this short video.

Please enjoy the Sekou Andrews show. And visit his website for even more of Sekou.

 

Your creativity can take many forms. Are you listening to your inner voice telling you how to create? Are you doing it? Are you sharing it?  I sincerely hope so.

~Deb

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Sign up for the Blue Twig Studio newsletter here.

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
