Retail Store Quest

3 Jul

I thought I’d give you an update on the quest for retail space, because I’m sure you really want to know. 🙂

I went out looking at some more properties this week.  One space that seemed to have good potential downtown because it had its own parking lot in the back, was already rented by the time we called on it. Darn it.

Another place I wanted to look at, they never called back. My Realtor (which is my nephew) tried to set up an appt, leaving several messages and no return calls at all. That doesn’t really bode well for them being very responsive if a tenant had questions or problems, so they are off the list.

The first space we tried to look a,t the person handing out the keys to let us look at the spaces was not the regular person doing that, so she didn’t know how to find the keys we wanted. The only keys she had were for a space that was not what I was looking for – it was way too big for me and designed for a doctor office. Nice to look at it, and imagine what I could do with so much SF, but not really for me. She said to call ahead so she could be sure to have the right key next time. Which is what I thought we did by having a scheduled appt to see the space. Apparently not. So we went on to the next space.

This space had 3 available spots (although one was probably going under contract soon). These spaces would all work for what I need. Good SF and good location with a lot of people visiting the shopping center and a high visibility location. And great views out the windows. Not that I need that or that has any relevance at all to the right retail space, but it was a nice added bonus.

The next shopping center was on the high end of what I can pay. But it was a newer center with a lot of traffic and a great location. I really liked the space and the location, but was feeling a bit uncomfortable with the higher rent. Of course, the foot traffic would be excellent and the neighborhood is great and the center has a great mix of tenants in there. It would be a great space to be in.

The next space we looked at was at the opposite end of the spectrum. The absolute cheapest $$ per SF in the city (which is the only reason I looked at it). The space was currently occupied, but the tenants are on a month to month, knowing they would need to vacate quickly if a new tenant came along. But boy was that place jammed full!! Hardly room to walk around the store in the aisles because they were so narrow. And we couldn’t even get to the back storage area because of so much stuff in the way. That is going to be one BIG job to move that store. But is is a HUGE space, way bigger than I was looking for, but at that price I could really be creative in how I used it. Believe me, the ideas were rolling through my head with glee. However, the shopping center is quite old, several vacancies, not anybody else in the center that would be bringing in potential customers for me, and the neighborhood is not my ideal location. Sigh. All that space……

All of these have ample parking available and I know that is a big priority for me. Now I really need to quit finding more spaces to look at and evaluate the ones that I have looked at and figure out the best fit for me and my customers. I love the researching side of it and start to drag my feet with the actual decision making side of things.

But I am getting excited (and nervous) about moving into a store front. So much more potential and possibilities than there are working in my home. The decisions will be made soon, so stay tuned!

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs CO 80923 – USA

9 Responses to “Retail Store Quest”

  1. kim6erly July 3, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    How exciting! I look forward to opening day!

    Like

  2. pammie~k July 3, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I have not introduced myself but have been following your blog. Can’t wait for you to have a store front and would be tickled if it were at the southwest side of town. 😉

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 3, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Well I haven’t decided where it is going to be yet, but I look forward to meeting you.

      Like

  3. juli July 3, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Good luck, Deb! How exciting! Enjoy the ride- looking, finding, & making your dream come true.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 4, 2013 at 7:57 am #

      Thanks Juli. I’m having fun with the process. 🙂

      Like

  4. Sonja Milojevic July 5, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    I can’t come and visit, but I am looking forward to hear more about your adventure. 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 5, 2013 at 6:36 am #

      I think you should come see me Sonja. It would be a grand adventure!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another store update! | Blue Twig Studio - July 27, 2013

    […] Retail Store Quest (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
