Quest for new digs!

22 Jun

If you subscribe to my newsletter, you know that I have started investigating the possibility of moving out of my basement and into a brick & mortar retail space. Woo hoo!

I have started the process of looking at potential spaces. I have my nephew (who is a Realtor) looking for the spaces that are available in my price range, the SF I’d like to have, the part of town that I am looking at. Surprisingly there were quite a few potential spaces. So first thing, my hubby and I drove by all of the spaces and peeked in windows. We wanted to eliminate some of the properties. Some of the factors we considered were: amount of available parking; condition & upkeep of the shopping center; how many vacant spaces were in the building; how easy the access into and out of the property was; etc.

Once we eliminated a number of spaces, my nephew set up some appointments to visit individual spaces. So far I have looked at 5 different spaces. One was a definite NO. It was the most expensive space, the smallest space, and was not configured for what I needed at all. Way too much unusable space. Although a nice location.

Each of the other 4 spaces have possible potential. None are perfect, but all could work for what I want. But since they aren’t perfect, I feel compelled to keep looking for awhile longer before I make my decision. I also am thinking I should expand the search and try to think outside of the box as to where I want to be and what I am looking for. Perhaps there are other options for a storefront!

Now you have the update of the quest for the new digs. I’ll let you know what happens next on this grand adventure.

~Deb

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

7 Responses to “Quest for new digs!”

  1. kim6erly June 22, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    Yes! Definitely keep us updated, I look forward to your “Grand Opening”!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 23, 2013 at 7:27 am #

      Thanks! It is scary and exciting all at the same time. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Paul Fitzgerald June 23, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    Hi Deb
    Hunting for a new space is exciting and so glad to hear that you’re growing and ready for a brick & mortar studio. While you continue your search please keep in mind the value that other neighboring business will have in bring potential customers/clients. Being next to a retail giant may not be your niche and could prove expensive. But, being next a popular local coffee shop could prove to be worth a little extra price/square foot by increaing foot traffic to your new space. Best of luck in your search and continued success.
    Cheers,
    Paul

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 23, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks for the comments Paul. Yes I am definitely looking at who the neighbors are in each of the spaces I’m checking out. I would love a coffee shop or something similar to be next door. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic June 24, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    Congratulations Deb! That is great news! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish you success!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 25, 2013 at 7:51 am #

      Thanks. It is a lot of work making all these decisions though. LOL

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Retail Store Quest | Blue Twig Studio - July 3, 2013

    […] Quest for new digs! (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
