The Arty Party and The Mohawk

28 Mar

Guest Blog Post by Cass Mullane – Design Team Member

The “Arty Party” and The Mohawk

by Cass Mullane

Wednesday was an interesting day… I attended my first “Arty Party” at Blue Twig Studio.  What a blast!

I arrived and I found the tables all pushed together into a giant workspace.  There were GOBS of fun baubles, trinkets, fibers, sticks, batting, fabrics, and, of course, ribbons.  I was immediately offered a glass of vino (not a bad way to start the evening!) and encouraged to find a seat.  I started snooping all the goodies and asked what we were going to be doing and was told that it was a mystery.  Great, I love mysteries!

And so it began!

An “Arty Party” is an evening of fun and joyful creativity hosted by Deb Prewitt of Blue Twig Studio.  She holds them on the fourth Wednesday of each month and selects a mystery creative project we can complete in a couple of hours.  This party turned out to be a laugh festival!

After Deb got us settled, she announced that we were going to be making Wise Woman dolls.  She showed us some samples (they were quite interesting) and then walked us through the process step by step.  We each were free to create whatever we wanted, with Deb there to guide us through any questions and challenges.

My Wise Woman started out as a bamboo skewer which was then wrapped a strip of batting, then bits of fabric and cheesecloth, and then finished off with fibers and ribbons to secure the bundle.  It sounded so easy, but my Wise Woman lost her innards (to the great amusement of my friends across the table!) and I had to start over.  Good thing Deb was there to show me that a couple of strategically placed pins would solve my problem.

Once we each figured out just how to make the whole thing stay together and actually come out looking sort of doll-ish, the real fun began!  We were finally allowed to dive into the baubles, bits, trinkets, beads yarns and ribbons to embellish our wise women.  I got so busy adding random strings of beads, trinkets and other embellishments, that I forgot to add hair to my Wise Woman.  The poor girl went home bald!

Not to worry, I promised to give her a do and now she’s sporting a lovely violet mohawk inspired by Kokopelli (another mischief maker).

So check out Deb Prewitt and Blue Twig Studio’s “Arty Party” for a creative and laughter filled evening!

P.S. One thing I found particularly interesting was that the three metal pieces that I’d randomly added had words that were perfectly suited for me as a business coach:  Listen, Breathe, Inspire.  Guess that little doll’s indeed a pretty Wise Woman!

Wise woman doll by Cass Mullane

Wise woman doll by Cass Mullane

Wise woman doll by Cass Mullane

Wise woman doll by Cass Mullane

 

PS from Deb – Love your Wise Woman Doll, Cass. There is a new class every month and it is a different project each month. And yes, there is wine and chocolate and a lot of fun and laughter. Perhaps you can join us next time!

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

4 Responses to “The Arty Party and The Mohawk”

  1. animatingyourlife March 28, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    What an awesome time. I wish there was something like this in my area – – – I might have to start one.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt March 29, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      We have a lot of fun at our Arty Party nights. A different project each month. You absolutely could do something in your area.

      Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic March 29, 2013 at 2:28 am #

    That is a beautiful and inspiring Doll! 🙂 I love all the bits on it.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt March 29, 2013 at 8:13 am #

      All of the dolls from the Arty Party that night were terrific. Everyone created something personal to them.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
