Introducing Kerry Ayers Cain

23 Feb

I want to introduce a new teacher to Blue Twig Studio. Of course, she isn’t a new teacher, but only new to my venue. She will be teaching some classes, with her first class – the Artful Bird – coming up next week. I’ve known Kerry for a few years and I appreciate the work she puts into her artistic creations. She is very talented and has a fabulous attention to detail. Samples of some of her work are included so you can see how talented she is. Believe me that this is just the tip of the iceberg as to what kind of work she creates. Please welcome her aboard!

Kerry Ayers Cain

Kerry Ayers Cain

 

I have been sewing since I was about 6 years old (about 55 years) although initially it was only to make my own clothes. As a teenager I also made cloth dolls and made the bodies and clothes for porcelain dolls. I then made my first quilt, a “Log Cabin in a Day Quilt”, about thirty years ago.

My fiber art now is eclectic. I still do clothes on occasion and recently made a couture dress to wear at my son’s wedding. I also sew an occasional traditional quilt as well as having a number of traditional UFO’s (unfinished objects) – which I do intend to finish some time. But most often I am working on art quilts or dolls. I work in all kinds of fabrics and fibers – whatever best expressed the feeling I am trying to convey in the work. As a fiber artist, I try to recapture the child’s sense of play. So I never can resist at least trying the newest materials and techniques. Sometimes they stick and will be used in a number of pieces and sometimes I try them only once. Although I do all of my piecing and much of my actual quilting by machine, in the last few years I have started to use more hand stitching and beadwork ion the quilts. One of the reasons I enjoy making fabric dolls is that it offers extensive opportunities for using all the hand threads and embellishments I have collected.

I enjoy sharing my work, both through exhibition and through teaching. I have had quilts displayed and won awards at Pueblo Stitch and Sew and the Alegre Retreat. I have also displayed quilts at the Denver Mancuso Quilt Show; at a TACtile quilt exhibit at the University of Denver and at a SAQA exhibit at Red Rocks Community College. One of my dolls, Esmerelda, was also displayed in the SAQA exhibit.

I have been teaching for over 35 years, both in formal venues on formal subject matter (as an instructor in child development at St. Mary of the Woods College and Colorado State University) and in more informal venues such as various art and quilting groups on fiber art topics.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Kerry will be teaching at Blue Twig Studio, and I hope you get the opportunity to take a class from her. You won’t be disappointed.

~Deb~

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

 

4 Responses to “Introducing Kerry Ayers Cain”

  1. Elizabeth Hansen February 23, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    I am signed up for the Artful Bird class! Cannot wait until next Saturday 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt February 24, 2013 at 7:26 am #

      It is going to be so much fun to make all those little birds.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Introducing my Design Team | Blue Twig Studio - March 7, 2013

    […] Kerry Ayers Cain was recently introduced as a BTS teacher, so her bio can be found on this post here.  […]

    Like

  2. An A-Ha Moment | Blue Twig Studio - March 22, 2013

    […] Introducing Kerry Ayers Cain (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
