Colorful ATCs for Feb ATC group

8 Feb

I belong to a local ATC group where we meet once a month. I finished my ATCs for my monthly ATC group – just in the nick of time (we are meeting tomorrow morning). I try to not wait until the last minute to finish my ATCs, but because this week was so hectic (I was traveling and then my little dog was sick) I almost didn’t get them done. Luckily they went together pretty quickly.

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

I started with a piece of water color paper that I had played around with some Silks Glazes and Twinkling H20s on. Just making random marks and patterns. Nothing in particular, just playing with colors. I love the sparkle of the Silks and the Twinks.

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

I then added some melted crayons to the page. I grabbed several colors and held them at an angle on the paper, and then zapped them with the heat gun. The crayons started to melt and I kind of scribbled a bit with them so they moved around and dripped. Lots of fun. Although you do have to be careful to not get the heat gun to close to your fingers as it is VERY HOT!

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Then I cut the paper up into ATC size – 2.5″ x 3.5″. I find it quite wonderful to see how a large piece of paper with random marks and colors on it can change when you cut it into smaller pieces. Each smaller piece looks so unique and incredible. I love working with the small size of the ATC.

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

After I had cut up the ATCs, I decided they needed something else. Since I always love using words, I stamped some words onto some deli paper and then used soft gel medium to adhere the words to the ATCs. Usually the deli paper just disappears into the background, however it seems that it doesn’t disappear completely when layered over melted crayons. 🙂

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

But I still liked how they looked. I just needed to add a bit of spray. I love using the sprays and this time I used the Perfect Pearls sprays and misted the ATCs. Just a little bit more sparkle. Hmmm. Maybe just one more thing. I used my Inka Gold in a couple of colors and stamped a circle around the words using the Inka Gold and a old toilet paper roll. How fun is that? Then I signed and dated the back of them. I love all the bright colors and patterns!

ATCs by Deb Prewitt

I’m sure the ATC trading group will be happy with them. And I am looking forward to seeing what everyone else brings this month. It is so much fun to be part of such a group. The inspiration and creativity is amazing. I highly recommend  you finding your own group to be a part of. If there aren’t any groups where you are, then you should try to create your own group. I promise it will be a lot of fun!

~Deb~

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Sign up for the Blue Twig Studio newsletter here.

 

7 Responses to “Colorful ATCs for Feb ATC group”

  1. Kathy King February 9, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    Very nice, Deb! Makes ,e wish I had gone!!!! LOL! See you soon, I hope!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt February 10, 2013 at 7:52 am #

      I wish you had gone too. I have a couple left. I’ll bring you one at lunch this week. 🙂

      Like

  2. pammie~k February 9, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    beautiful ATCs!

    Like

  3. Sonja Milojevic February 10, 2013 at 6:53 am #

    Great ATCs and what a great way to make them! Such fun to play with paints and other materials on a large piece of paper and then cut them to size. I like how playful and happy looking they are. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt February 10, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      I love doing that. I often start with a larger piece that I have worked on but didn’t quite love (paper and fabric work for this) and then use it as smaller pieces for ATCs or postcards or bits on a journal page. Of course I never throw anything away, even if I hate it. You never know when it will be useful in some other project. 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Black & White ATCs | lifeofdeb - March 6, 2013

    […] Colorful ATCs for Feb ATC group (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
