Yummy stuff at CHA

21 Jan

I just got home from CHA in Anneheim. I fully intended to blog about CHA while I was there, but alas that didn’t happen. There is just so much going on and so much to do and see and then you end up exhausted at the end of the day and don’t want to really do much work. Plus the hotel was charging us if we wanted to use the internet, which really just annoyed me. Anyway, I only managed to do a few Facebook posts while I was gone.

First of all, Sunny California was downright cold. Apparently there were record cold temperatures while we were there. I know, it certainly wasn’t as cold as at home, but when you go to California you expect it to be nice. The trek from the hotel to breakfast and to the Convention Center every day was quite brisk (especially since I didn’t really take warm clothes with me). But still, the sun was out, the palm trees were swaying, the shrubbery was green and lush. And the company was great.

I did a number of workshops/classes while I was there, which were really great. I tried to sit in on a few demos on the floor, but really didn’t have the time to do as much of that as I wanted. I did look at lots of samples of fun mixed media art. It does really look like the scrapbooking industry is trying to incorporate more mixed media into what they do. Most of the scrapbooking companies are adding more texture and layers and embellishments than they have in the past. There is definitely more of a mixed media feel to everything. Of course, I am not really a scrapbooking business so all those rows of paper and more paper just weren’t that interesting to me.

cha

The booths I liked best were more art and mixed media. Those were the yummy booths. Lots of fun stuff to play with and lots of great art and new products and fun colors.

Of course, Ranger has a fabulous booth, and there are Tim Holtz things everywhere (not just at Ranger). Tim Holtz is like a rock star. His demos have so many people watching and filming and snapping photos, and then if he is out and about there are people wanting his autograph and hoping to take a photo with him or get a hug. Of course there are many other artists doing demos and having photos taken, but he is by far the most popular.

Faber-Castell has a nice booth and demos. They have great packaging so their products always look nice. Plus they had these fabulous cookies there with icing that showed all the gelatos. Very pretty and colorful and tasty.

cha

The Luminarte booth was a lot of fun too. All that wonderful color and lots of sparkle. And quite busy too.

The Petaloo people had so many samples of artwork using their products. A lot of texture and dimension and layers. I thought they had a lot of great samples of ways to use their products in mixed media art. I liked the Kaisercraft booth too. Cute ideas for using their products. My theory is that if you are selling scrapbooking papers you need to show some other ideas for your products to appeal to the part of the market that isn’t really scrapbooking. I love pretty papers, but I’m probably not using them in a scrapbook. I might use them in art journaling or collage or other mixed media work.

cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha

Of course there are all those booths that try to outdo each other with displays and accessories. There was not one, but two enormous elephants in two different booths, a cool hippy VW van, dinette vignettes, numerous dresses, flying butterflies,  a magic show, bicycles, etc.  So much creativity and ingenuity in the displays. I loved seeing all those fun booths.

cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha cha

All in all, it was fun and entertaining and I had fun playing with new goodies. I can’t wait to share the new products I ordered as they start coming into the store.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out to Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

2 Responses to “Yummy stuff at CHA”

  1. Sonja Milojevic January 22, 2013 at 2:56 am #

    Oohhh this looks like Heaven! I think I would get lost in all those gorgeous displays and supplies. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 22, 2013 at 8:18 am #

      It is easy to get lost in all the fun stuff. But very inspiring too.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
