Welcome to Linda Sagastume

16 Jan

Linda Sagastume is a new instructor for Blue Twig Studio. Linda is currently teaching Whimsy, Words & Winter Art Journal on Sun Jan 27 from 1-5pm. This is a class designed for the beginner, but all artist levels are welcome to join the fun. You will create a mini journal around the theme of Winter. You can find out more about it on the Events tab of Blue Twig Studio.

Linda Sagastume

Linda Sagastume

 

I thought you might want to get to know her a bit better. Here is what Linda shared with me.

“Presently I am working in mixed media in the art journal format. For many years I worked with oils as a painter, landscapes mostly, some abstract expressionism, then I discovered the freedom and fun of working in a journal. It mixes my love of creative expression with words for poetic expression, in a book format. There is something very free about art journaling and I have found a way to re-connect with my artistic intuition, somehow it was high jacked along the way… and now my art has it’s own language. I am totally, 100%, obsessed with all facets, bits and pieces, possibilities, and pursuits imbued in the art journal. Every piece of paper I encounter in life is possible ephemera for a journal page. Taking the ordinary and making it into an amazing piece of creative expression seems simplistic, yet somehow it catapults me toward a life of curiosity and wonder…essential ingredients for any artist’s work. In my classes I enjoy sharing mixed media techniques but the real joy comes when I see a student make the connection with creativity. Last summer one of my students showed me her journal page where she had documented her birthday celebration. Another showed me a page displaying a piece of a tissue box design that fit our theme of gray shades. Making the ordinary into extraordinary is amazing to behold and this is part of our creative journey. The art critic is silenced, color implodes the page, messy is ok, papers are collaged, textures emerge, and the created image has transformed a blank page into something beautiful. This is art journaling!!! ”

“What lies behind you, what lies before you are tiny matters compared to what lies within you.” A favorite quote by Emerson

Thanks for sharing a bit about yourself Linda, and welcome to Blue Twig Studio. I love your quote choice. I think that is a favorite for a lot of people.

Linda also teaches classes at Bemis School of Art, where she shares her love of art journaling.  I am happy to have her on board for teaching, and I look forward to seeing what other classes she has to share with us in the future. You can tell how excited she is about her art and creativity and teaching it to others.

Here are some samples of her art journaling pages. You can see her love of color and it looks like she has a lot of fun. I think her style will fit right in with Blue Twig Studio.

 

There is still some space available in her Whimsy, Words & Winter class, so please let me know if you are interested in taking that class so I can get you registered. This is a one day class where you learn about various techniques to use in your own art journal.

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

4 Responses to “Welcome to Linda Sagastume”

  1. Novice Bookbinder January 17, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Oh, very cool. I’d sign up but I already have a commitment that day. Still, I keep an eye on future classes.

    Like

  2. angelia January 20, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Hi, Linda! I’ve come to your blog via April’s “The Studio” on Facebook. I’ve really enjoyed my visit here and have subscribed to your blog by email. I’m looking forward to becoming better acquainted in The Studio. 🙂

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
