What will be your word for the year?

12 Dec

The last few years I have been finding a ‘word of the year’ that I can use all year long. Sort of like an intention for the year – only just a single word. A reminder to think about that particular word throughout the year and see what manifests from it. It is a powerful tool to use.

FOCUS

In 2011 my word was ‘focus’ and I spent a lot of time learning to focus better and figuring out exactly what I should focus on. And it really did work.

PLAY     SEEK

In 2012 I had 2 words – sometimes you need more than one word. 🙂 My words were ‘play’ and ‘seek’, which were also powerful choices. I wanted to learn to play more and not work so much, but also to incorporate more play into my work. Work and play should go hand in hand.  And seek was used to help me seek out knowledge and information and power and strengths. To learn more about myself by seeking it out. I loved those 2 words for 2012.

Now we are closing in on 2013 and I need a new word. There are lots of choices out there. Each word has it’s own secrets and powers. Each word means something different to each of us. It is important to choose the word that resonates with you and what your intentions are for the upcoming year. It is important to remember that no matter what word you choose, it will speak to you and you will find it’s true meaning.

How you use your word is up to you. You can just post a sticky note to your computer screen to remind you of it every day. You can write it in big lipstick letters on your bathroom mirror. You can create an intention card with the word on it that you look at every night before bed. You can create a journal devoted to the word. You can create a piece of art that defines that word for you. You can make a charm with the word on it and wear it every day. I’m sure you can think of even more ideas about how to use the word of the year and give it meaning in your life.

My word for 2013 is EXPLORE. I wanted a word that would work for personal, business, and creative parts of my life, a word that could be used in a variety of ways. And a word that I could really sink into. Yes, I think I will like this word a lot.

So what will your word be? Please share it below. I think that sharing your word gives it more power and helps to manifest itself in your life.

~Deb~

Blue Twig Studio

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

 

11 Responses to “What will be your word for the year?”

  1. Cass December 12, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Too funny! One of the things I’m talking about in my newsletter this month is about choosing a Word for the year. Great minds!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 12, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      Well we do often think alike. 🙂
      So what will your word for the year be?

      Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic December 13, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    Haha, that’s exactly what my word is! 🙂 Explore. Not sure if my last year’s word was the same or not, I forgot. 🙂 But anyway, I love it!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 13, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Yay. We have the same word. We’ll go exploring together.

      Like

  3. terzae December 13, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    My word for 2013 is Play.
    Interesting timing for your post, Deb. We created “significance” clouds yesterday in our $100,000 Club. I chose fun yesterday for my word.

    Like

  4. Kathy December 13, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    I hadn’t thought about my word yet, but it came to me in a flash when I read your post! Prepare. 2013 will be a year of preparing for future changes. Exciting stuff.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 13, 2012 at 8:44 am #

      Prepare is a great word Kathy. Especially with you transitioning your life right now.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflections on 2012 | lifeofdeb - December 30, 2012

    […] etc. It is a more positive way to start the New Year than a to-do list. And then I have found a word for the year (my word for 2013 is Explore) that I can use as a guide for the upcoming year. The reflection list […]

    Like

  2. Making fun Banners! « Blue Twig Studio - January 6, 2013

    […] making some more of them. How about you? Will you be making some too? Did you notice how I used my word for the year on one of the banners […]

    Like

  3. Monday Word of the Week – gallimaufry | lifeofdeb - January 7, 2013

    […] What will be your word for the year? (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
