ATCs for the group

8 Dec

I belong to a monthly ATC group. We get together and swap ATCs and share how we made them and what new techniques we might have tried. It is a lot of fun and there is always such variety and innovation that it is truly inspiring. And isn’t that what ART is supposed to do?  It is also what inspired my monthly ATC Blog Challenge. If you don’t know – ATC stands for Artist Trading Cards. They are tiny works of art you create – 2.5″ x 3.5″.

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

This month is a FREE month for the group. We have a theme one month and then the next month there is no theme. Last month I did holiday themed cards so had decided that this month I would do something different. I usually go rummaging around in my studio to find something that sparks an idea. I try to only use what I have and not go buy anything new for the ATCs. That makes me think more creatively about what I am doing, as well as use up a small amount of stuff that is taking up space in my studio.

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

As I was looking through bits and pieces and papers and odds and ends (looking for inspiration to strike) I found some scrapbook paper with Vintage Christmas Stamps on it, which were adorable and tiny so they would be perfect for ATCs. Who knows when I bought this paper and what I had originally intended it for, but now it would be used for my ATCs.  Thus I decided to do a holiday theme after all. Then I searched through my pile of painted papers, which I always have on hand for just such a reason. I found two different painted watercolor pages that had colors to coordinate with the vintage stamps. Then I found some precut stars that I had made with my Cricuit, and some torn bits of gold tissue paper (I had pulled out some other bits of papers too, but didn’t end up using them). I pulled out a couple of my punches (a snowflake and a star) and made some little punches out of leftover Kraft paper that had been used as a drop cloth on the table, and an old torn sparkly gift bag that I had saved (you know as mixed media artists we don’t throw anything away :)).  I also had some red electrical tape that I taped to the Kraft paper and punched out stars. Creating ATCs is a perfect way to practice your mixed media techniques, and it is so much fun to do!

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Then I just played with all the bits and pieces and moved them around on the ATC backgrounds until I liked what I saw, and started glueing everything down (I used matte medium). Ta Da! There you have it. A nice little bunch of pretty ATCs to share at ATC group today.

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Christmas ATCs by Deb Prewitt

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

4 Responses to “ATCs for the group”

  1. Sonja Milojevic December 8, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    These ATCs are great! I am sure your group will love them! Very fun and happy looking! 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Have you submitted your ATCs yet? « Blue Twig Studio - December 15, 2012

    […] ATCs for the group (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Colorful ATCs for Feb ATC group « Blue Twig Studio - February 8, 2013

    […] ATCs for the group (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
