Holiday ATCs

10 Nov

I decided I should be sharing whenever I am creating stuff. I don’t always remember to take photos is usually why I don’t always share. I really have to work on taking photos. Anyone want to nag me on a regular basis? 🙂

I belong to an ATC group, where we meet once a month and trade our ATCs. One month we have a theme, and then the next month we don’t. We’ve been meeting for several years now, and the makeup of the group is always changing. People come and go, like with all groups. But we have a lot of fun and it is always inspiring to see what everyone creates. We have fabric ATCs, paper ATCs, metal ATCs, and all sorts of interesting parts to create mixed media art. ATCs are perfect for practicing new techniques and trying out new mediums.

This month our theme was “song themes”. It took me a while to figure out what to do for that. I finally settled on doing a holiday song theme. It seemed kind of natural for this time of year.

I know a lot of people use green & red for Christmas, but I like blue & silver. I started with a light blue cardstock. Then I used some vintage Christmas music pages (which are part of these paper packs) and tore them into pieces (setting the song titles aside) and used fluid matte medium to adhere them to the cardstock. Once I covered the page, I spritzed with a couple of the glimmer mist sprays (I used Frost & Silver).  They are very light in color, but add a bit of shimmer to the page.

I then cut the page into my ATC sized pieces (2.5″ x 3.5″). Once I had them cut, I added some snowflake trim, again using the matte medium to adhere it. I gathered up the song titles and tore them out, inking the edges with an ink pad. I also inked the edges of the ATC at the same time. I like how that just adds a bit more finish to the edges. When the ink was dry, I glued the song titles onto each ATC  (with the matte medium). And then signed and dated the backside using a silver pen. They were easy to create and I think they turned out pretty cute. Here is a pic of the whole group, and then a closeup of one of them.

Holiday ATCs by Deb Prewitt

Holiday ATC by Deb Prewitt

 

 

Do you belong to an ATC group? If not, maybe you should create your own group. It is a lot of fun to make these little bits of art. 🙂

You can also see the Blog ATC Challenge and send in a Bird ATC for Nov. I’ve already received a few really great ATCs for the Blog Challenge. I hope you decide to join us.

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

9 Responses to “Holiday ATCs”

  1. Silvia November 11, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    They are lovely!!!

    Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic November 11, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    Your ATCs look wonderful! I like the silver and blue theme!
    I also hope to send the November ATC in a few days. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 11, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Thanks Sonja. Can’t wait to see the Nov ATC.

      Like

  3. Kathy King November 11, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    These came out great, Deb!!! I feel badly that I haven’t made any in so long!!!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 11, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      We’ve missed you. Maybe next month you will be there. 🙂

      Like

  4. lynn sweeney November 11, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    I love the colors you’ve used and what a great idea using the song titles. I may offer this up for a theme for the ATC group I belong to.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ATCs for the group « Blue Twig Studio - December 8, 2012

    […] is a FREE month for the group. We have a theme one month and then the next month there is no theme. Last month I did holiday themed cards so had decided that this month I would do something different. I usually go rummaging around in my […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
