Steampunk is here to stay

29 Oct

OK, I admit I was late to get on the Steampunk bandwagon, but I’m all aboard now. Steampunk is a combination of 1800s aesthetics with technology and science thrown in for good measure. It is hard to explain but easy to recognize. There are usually watch parts and gears and wires and mechanical parts along with velvet and lace and parasols and bicycles, etc. It’s all good fun and quite entertaining to see how you can combine completely disparate parts to make something new. This book 1000 Steampunk Creations: Neo-Victorian Fashion, Gear & Art by Dr. Grymm with Barbe Saint John.  has many great artistic pieces celebrating the Steampunk genre. I don’t believe that Steampunk is going away. The more I see of it, the more I like it, and the more I see it everywhere I look. Steampunk is perfect for mixed media art enthusiasts.

I took a class with Erin Keck and made this gorgeous Steampunk Clock. It was such a lot of fun to create and to see what everyone else in the class was doing with their clocks. Each clock was completely different (of course) but with the Steampunk aesthetic firmly in place. Here is my Steampunk Clock. Isn’t it funky? I love it!

Steampunk Clock by Deb Prewitt

Erin Keck of EK Supplies also designs the gears that are used here. The gears are made of a lightweight birch wood and come in all different sizes and shapes and designs. You can find them here at Blue Twig Studio. I know there are a bunch of ways you can use these gears in your own Steampunk artwork. You can also find Erin’s Steampunk creations in the book 1000 Steampunk Creations.

Gears by EK Supplies

Tim Holtz also has small metal gears and clock parts, etc. that are great for use with Steampunk creations. You can also find a variety of Tim Holtz products at Blue Twig Studio.

Sprocket gears by Tim Holtz

There are also a number of stencils that have a Steampunk theme as well. You can find them here.

What have you created that used the Steampunk style?

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Dr – Colorado Springs, Co 80923 – USA

If you want to know about new products and upcoming classes, as well as sales/coupons, then you should sign up for the Blue Twig Studio weekly newsletter here.

2 Responses to “Steampunk is here to stay”

  1. Sonja Milojevic November 1, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    The clock you made is absolutely gorgeous! I’m also new to this style, but I love it!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt November 1, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      The clock was such a lot of fun to make and it was my first Steampunk thing I had ever done, and it definitely hooked me.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
